AppGuard 4.x 32/64 Bit

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Jryder54, Oct 29, 2013.

  1. paulderdash

    paulderdash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Posts:
    2,178
    Location:
    The etherlands
    @Lockdown Just a small irritation, but one thing I hope they improve in v5 is the process to (indefinitely) 'Allow Installs' ...

    To do this: Open AG interface > move slider from 'Protected' down to 'Allow Installs' > untick resume after 20 minutes, the slider moves back up to 'Protected' and one has to move it down to 'Allow Installs' again.

    There also seems to be quite a delay between doing that and the task bar icon reflecting same. I have also had instances where the interface and task bar are 'out of sync', so unsure which mode was active.

    Edit: I think this has been mentioned here before ...
     
  2. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
    I see it everyday. It is on the bug list. It is an old bug.
     
  3. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,219
    Location:
    USA
    I'm pretty sure it was Microsoft .Net Framework 4.7 KB3186568. I was upgraded to Windows 10 Creators Edition, and it overwrote all my Update History. I don't have any logs to look at now. I don't know if everyone is starting to get Windows 10 Creators Edition now, or if it was pushed out to me just like the .Net Framework was. I don't have much time to look into it. I have my hands full right now learning sql, and Novel Database. I only have 3 weeks left to turn all my work in for the Summer Session.
     
  4. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,219
    Location:
    USA
    I didn't upgrade from Windows 7 to 10. I did a full format of my drive, and installed Windows 10. This was about 4 months ago. I don't have any logs now. Windows update updated me to Windows 10 Creators Edition, and it overwrote all my update logs.
     
  5. illumination

    illumination Guest

    Been seeing this for a long time as well, glad to hear it is on the list to be corrected.
     
  6. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
    Until further notice, anyone that wishes to install Microsoft .NET Framework 4.7 via Windows Updates is advised to disable AppGuard and then install the update. It is recommended to install it alone - after all other Windows Updates have been installed.

    This will apply to those on pre-Windows 10 1703 as .NET Framework 4.7 is already shipped with 1703. Goto Programs & Features > Turn on\off Windows Features and you will see .NET Framework there.

    There is a laundry list of known issues with .NET Framework 4.7. Microsoft needs to sort those issues out.

    .NET Framework updates well known to be problematic with a wide range of issues.
     
  7. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,026
    Location:
    USA
    Anyone know if AppGuard 4.x is compatible with Windows 7?
     
  8. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
    Yes. It is compatible.
     
  9. TomAZ

    TomAZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Posts:
    1,026
    Location:
    USA
    Good to know -- thank you.
     
  10. icotonev

    icotonev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Posts:
    2
  11. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,484
  12. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
  13. Signus

    Signus Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2017
    Posts:
    1
    Location:
    England
  14. Tomin2009

    Tomin2009 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2012
    Posts:
    83
    @Lockdown, please see the PM.

    And this is my configuration.
     

    Attached Files:

  15. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
    Version 4 is no longer sold. The link is to purchase version 5.
     
  16. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
    There is bug. I see it. Thank you.
     
  17. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,484
  18. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
  19. Mister X

    Mister X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    2,699
    Location:
    Mexico
    :argh: Honestly, I feel sorry for you.
     
  20. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
    The way it is written and with the link, I am not sure exactly what is being asked. That's all.
     
  21. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,484
    Maybe I am misunderstanding the paragraph from the link I posted. I might be thinking of PowerShell.

    "Defending Against Malicious Web Sites and Downloads



    Microsoft SmartScreen, originally introduced in IE8, is supported in Microsoft Edge and by the Windows 10 Shell. SmartScreen defends users against phishing sites by performing a reputation check on sites the browser visits, blocking sites that are thought to be phishing sites. Similarly, SmartScreen in both the browser and the Windows Shell defends users against socially-engineered downloads of malicious software to users being tricked into installing malicious software."
     
  22. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
    Unless an exploit of smartscreen.exe comes along, there is no need to add it anywhere within AppGuard.

    Powershell. Unless you use it regularly or any installed software uses it regularly, disable it. It is a needless, almost completely preventable potential menace.

    Remember, Windows powershell is not powershell.exe; it is System.Management.Automation. If you're interested, search online for ways to launch powershell with powershell.exe disabled. It's "fringe" stuff so don't get bent out of shape about it.
     
  23. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
    Anyone using Microsoft Office 2016 or Office365 2016 ?

    Anyone see block events with AppGuard installed and then notice after Office update that office programs cannot launch or bad misbehavior ?
     
  24. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    4,981
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Any known conflicts with AppGuard personal and Eset HIPS?
     
  25. Lockdown

    Lockdown Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2016
    Posts:
    772
    Location:
    AppGuard LLC, Virginia, U.S.
    None reported.

    @illumination uses ESET and AppGuard Personal together. He has stated "no problems encountered."

    ESET does not run processes from User Space and does not use interpreters (as far as I can recall), so there should theoretically be no issues.

    reg.exe, wmic.exe and schtasks.exe are disabled in default AppGuard policy.

    If you install AppGuard after ESET, then no issues. (You should disable ESET probably if in full-blown interactive mode to avoid those HIPS alerts or use an install mode if there is one).

    If you install AppGuard before ESET, then set it to completely OFF while installing ESET.
     
Loading...