AppGuard 4.x 32/64 Bit - Releases

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Jryder54, Oct 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    USB partitions are launched Guarded by default.

    CCleaner portable is always executed Guarded from USB on my system; I have to add it to Power Apps so that it can perform some functions - like registry clean-up.

    Other portable apps - I don't know.

    Other, user created non-system partitions, I am not sure how AppGuard behaves.

    @guest - you are one of only handful that creates non-system partitions.
     
  2. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    All additional partitions are automatically in user-space.
     
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    Question is :

    - does anyone having apps (portable or installed ) located on non-system partitions can add them in the Guarded Apps list without any error alert from current beta version of Appguard?

    - does anyone using Rollback RX and replicating the process above , got the error?

    i try to figure out if Appguard can handle multi-partitioning and is able to guard apps in non-system partitions or Appguard has issue to detect partitions because of RX.
     
  4. iammike

    iammike Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2012
    Posts:
    345
    Location:
    SE Asia
    Something discovered while testing. Maybe normal behavior ;)

    Using Appguard 4.3.14.5 (Running in Lockdown mode)

    Firefox set as Guarded Apps (Privacy = On)
    Download Folder set Protected (Read Only)

    After downloading something with Firefox

    2 things happen (or not)

    1- A file is created with the name of the download but with 0 Bytes in length
    2- No Notification / Nothing in Activity Report

    Thx
     
  5. Grumlo

    Grumlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    the beta Appguard which version ?
     
  6. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    There is no current beta release. Use the current stable.
     
  7. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    If you uninstall RX... same issue (error message) ?
     
  8. Grumlo

    Grumlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    Thanks I thought that comes new beta :)
     
  9. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    Perhaps new beta release within the month. BRN will post download link in this thread.
     
  10. Grumlo

    Grumlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    so nice :)
    do You know what will be change in this new ?
     
  11. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    No. Most AppGuard beta releases are minor releases. Major releases are infrequent, e.g. 4 to 5.

    I expect minor release with bug fixes and some policy changes - that is it. That is the customary changelog for AppGuard for a very long time now...
     
  12. Grumlo

    Grumlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    I understood. Thank You :)
    What do You use now with Appguard ?
     
  13. guest

    guest Guest

    never tried on main machine, it is why i asked, if i removed RX i lose all my snapshots.

    i will try on another machine.
     
  14. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    I just use AppGuard + Adguard + Windows Defender\Firewall on W10. That is all I need.
     
  15. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    Yeah, I understand that one...
     
  16. Grumlo

    Grumlo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Posts:
    176
    Thank You again.
    Your posts for me are repository of knowledge.
    Regards
     
  17. locoJoe

    locoJoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    bump
    what happened to @Barb_C
    is she like school teacher and take the summer off?
     
  18. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    She is busy with internal projects and support.

    Barb is here on an infrequent basis.

    This is not a support forum - it is a beta test forum; support questions should be submitted directly to BRN via their support webpage.
     
  19. Jarmo P

    Jarmo P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Posts:
    1,207
    No. This is AppGuard support thread, where people can come ask their questions and share their knowledge. Also about beta versions, but some beta thread this is not.
     
  20. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    It is a support thread, but it is NOT an offical support vehicle for BRN. Barb does her best here, but it isn't an 'official" job of hers
     
  21. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    Barb, and therefore BRN, considers this thread essentially a beta and news thread.

    IF she notices support requests when visiting the thread, she might or might not reply; she doesn't visit this thread very often to inquire about on-going issues or beta testing matters.

    Generally, she will visit for a week or so after beta version releases.

    She has stated repeatedly that support matters should be submitted via the BRN support webpage - even for beta testing results.

    Like @Peter2150 states, any support here is not officially supported by BRN.
     
  22. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    When I booted up PC after work got message from AppGuard a patch from Heidmal was blocked. now what he patch was for a newer version and though Heidmal said the patch was made it was not. Heidmal does not offer a option to opt out of auto patching.
    I have 5 days left of my trial and dought I will buy this product, I think it interferes too much with all my other security software at tis point.
     
  23. JLD

    JLD Guest

    After learning SRP whitelisting in Windows 10 Pro (and setting it up for a PC), I thought I would download AppGuard to see how it compared in terms of protection and ease of configuration. So far, color me impressed:)
     
  24. bjm_

    bjm_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2009
    Posts:
    3,965
    Location:
    .
    have you tried Heidmal as Power Application...
    if you run Protected try adding Heidmal to Trusted Publisher....
     
  25. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    bjm
    yes I did that when I was having other issues with a lot of blocked reports. I added all 4 exes.
    I found when you set a protection level with AppGuard, it turns protection back on after a period of time. So when Heidmal tried to patch in the middle of the night AppGuard still blocked it even after I turned protection to off. Ended up uninstalling it.
    Not sure what you mean by Heidmal to trusted publisher?
    And how do I know it is not messing with all my other security software?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.