AppGuard 4.x 32/64 Bit - Releases

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Jryder54, Oct 29, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    Where do you see how long your Lic in for? I can not find it.

    EDIT: Found it in tray and about. I have a whole 20 days left of a trial.
     
  2. guest

    guest Guest

    it was the version you bought. not time-limited but version-limited.
     
  3. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    As far as I know, creating registry write exceptions is not supported.
     
  4. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    UK
    exactly the point I raised on the malware forums, but guest is very aggressively defending the pricing.

    I agree with your principle that I expect annual pricing to be approx 33% of previous lifetime pricing.


    Until this is changed I wont even consider appguard, I would just be subsidising the lifetime license users.
     
  5. guest

    guest Guest

    i don't defend it, i dont get money from them lol, i just being annoyed of people whining about a software's price just to get some discounts; business is business.; if you ever owned a business you know what i talking about... Do you whine to Apple when you buy their latest Iphone/Ipad/Mac ? i don't think so... you can't pay? just move on quietly.
    Appguard is a top notch product, used by homeland security agencies and corporations; so it is normal they sell their product the price they think is right. In fact, they don't even need to sell to us (home users), so be happy they do.

    do you know what is Appguard lifetime license? it was just for the version you bought, it was not for all version (say you buy v4 , you can use it forever, but you will need to buy v5 again)

    That is you choice. personally i choose quality over price.
     
  6. rm22

    rm22 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2014
    Posts:
    357
    Location:
    Canada
    Chill out guys - I posted a valid question to the developer - let them answer if they wish... with the licensing just changing to annual, the price could easily be under review currently
     
  7. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    Annual subscription is $39.95 per license. That price has been officially set by BRN. It equates to $3.99 per month - which is the subscription rate for AOL TechFortress (AppGuard). BRN has kept all the consumer product pricing at parity with each other.

    I would not expect any price reduction... as BRN's operational costs are high.

    Of course, BRN can always revise the license price downwards -- but I wouldn't expect it.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2016
  8. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,289
    The 3-user license is gone?
    As i bought it long time ago it was a 3-user license (group license)
     
  9. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    I have not seen a 3-User license package for a very long time.

    Currently, if you purchase 3 licenses the cost = 3 X $39.95 (US).
     
  10. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,289
    I purchased it exactly 3 years ago for about $20 (3-users).
    But even $39.95 is acceptable for me if i have to buy more licenses.
    It's worth it.
     
  11. guest

    guest Guest

    that is the whole point, if it is worthy for you, just buy it; don't beg for some unreal discounts.
     
  12. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    UK
    not begging just pointing out the inflation is insane and I expect same pricing as older customers, (or at least pricing that has real inflation).

    You are refusing to accept you been subsidised by new customers.
     
  13. chrcol

    chrcol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Posts:
    977
    Location:
    UK
    its not $40 its $120, so you paid $20 and its now $120 for 3 years,
     
  14. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Hi chrcol

    This discussion is really pointless. BRN feels they need to do this, and I understand why. But it really doesn't matter what you feel, you have a simple choice, buy it and pay or not. End of story
     
  15. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    ScreenHunter_13 May. 14 18.18.jpg I am a very new user of AppGuard.

    I am wondering if this is normal behavior to have soo many block in just a few hours?
     
  16. XhenEd

    XhenEd Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Posts:
    536
    Location:
    Philippines
    That seems "normal" to me.
    I believe every user of AppGuard has blocking events because of system/non-system operations.
     
  17. guest

    guest Guest

    exactly , simple as that
     
  18. mood

    mood Updates Team

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Posts:
    40,289
    I think you did something with netsh.exe? Or something similar.
    AG guards the Command Prompt (and programs started within it), and if you want it to write to the registry you have to suspend the protection.
    Rightclick the tray-icon: Guarded Execution -> Suspend ...
     
  19. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    USA
    It's hard to say if that's normal by just looking at that image. We can't see the event viewer message info, we can only see part of the info. Right click on one of the lines that says, "Network Command Shell", and choose message info, then take a screenshot and post that image here with your AG Activity Report.
     
  20. meatouph

    meatouph Guest

    hmm...
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Mr.X

    Mr.X Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2013
    Posts:
    3,983
    Location:
    Mexico
    Yes it's normal. Every time I insert a USB with an autorun.inf in there, AppGuard prevents its execution. Specially when working on Rufus.
     
  22. locoJoe

    locoJoe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Posts:
    21
    Cutting_Edgetech said:

    I requested an option to block by process name regardless of path, but it never made the cut. Maybe next time.


    Barb_C said:

    Sorry, dropped the ball on this. It shouldn't be too difficult of a change.


    locoJoe, Apr 7, 2016 said:

    That would be great! ETA on this might be when?
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    bump
     
  23. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    ScreenHunter_14 May. 16 17.29.jpg Ok here is the screen shot. I know Heidmal does something with the host file or something, using 127. 0 ect would that be it?
     
  24. boredog

    boredog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Posts:
    2,499
    mood? what do you mean? Do you mean one of my other security programs are messing with it? And if so, is AddGuard blocking the functions of my other security program ?
    when I click on
    "I think you did something with netsh.exe? Or something similar.
    AG guards the Command Prompt (and programs started within it), and if you want it to write to the registry you have to suspend the protection.
    Rightclick the tray-icon: Guarded Execution -> Suspend"
    Only option I get is suspend internet explorer.
     
    Last edited: May 16, 2016
  25. hjlbx

    hjlbx Guest

    @boredog

    Add Heimdal Pro to Power Apps and see if the Windows Network Command Shell actions are still blocked.

    If they are no longer blocked, then there is your answer...

    netsh.exe is a fairly powerful command line utility -- and not utilized during typical use. Something is using it -- but it is difficult to know without any further infos.

    What other security softs are you using on your system ?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.