AppGuard 3.x 32/64 Bit

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by shadek, Mar 12, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    The main difference between Locked Down and High is that High allows digitally signed executables from trusted publishers to be launched from user space and Locked Down doesn't allow anything to be executed from user space. The difference from a practical perspective isn't huge so High is okay for normal web surfing.

    For best results perhaps also consider combining AppGuard with a light virtualization utility, or an application sandbox such as Sandboxie, to ensure that anything nasty you might encounter via the browser is fully contained within a virtual environment. A layered security approach consisting of both policy restriction and virtualization makes for a very secure setup.
     
  2. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Europe
    Who can help me to fix the Flash player upgrade issue ?

    Look at my last two previous posts on this page.

    Thanks in advance !
     
  3. DBone

    DBone Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Posts:
    1,041
    Location:
    SoCal USA
    Set it to install and that will solve your problem.
     
  4. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Europe
    The upgrade windows doesn't appear. AG locked down this program automatically.
     
  5. Barb_C

    Barb_C Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Posts:
    1,234
    Location:
    Virginia
    It is not possible with the current version of AppGuard. We will consider making the configuration of each protection level customizable in an upcoming release.
     
  6. Barb_C

    Barb_C Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Posts:
    1,234
    Location:
    Virginia
    I'm not sure why the Ignore Message function is not working. I'll report it as a bug and see if we can reproduce it here.

    From what I've seen posted on this forum, I beleive that you should keep Sandboxie as a power app.
     
  7. Barb_C

    Barb_C Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Posts:
    1,234
    Location:
    Virginia
    Unfortunately the publisher list only works for updates if the publisher digitally signs all of their installation packages. Since that is not always the case (and it appears that isn't the case here), you may have to lower the protection level to "Install" or "Off" in order to successfully complete the update.
     
  8. Barb_C

    Barb_C Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Posts:
    1,234
    Location:
    Virginia
    Noted!
     
  9. Ashanta

    Ashanta Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Posts:
    702
    Location:
    Europe
    Ok, Barb_C

    I will do it manually. ;)

     
  10. Cutting_Edgetech

    Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Posts:
    5,647
    Location:
    USA
    Is a new beta of AG coming out soon for testing?
     
  11. flamerz

    flamerz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Posts:
    55
    a question about appguard license.

    i saw this is a 3 user license. this means that 3 users can install appguard in all the machines that they own if they are the solo users?

    another question... anybody installed appguard to clients or customers? i have one client that always is plenty of malware and adaware, and i was thinking a config with appguard/sandboxie + chrome.

    i like appguard because is "quiet" and it will not annoy her. She is quite new with computers and bite with scam advertisements. :rolleyes: She uses win7 home (no ultimate, no linux choices).

    thanks!
     
  12. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    13,744
    Location:
    Canada
    good choice my friend and with appguard you dont really need sandboxie,appguard will protect her computer in real time she just need an ondemand scaner or maybe a real-time antivirus(free antivirus):thumb:
     
  13. arsenaloyal

    arsenaloyal Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Posts:
    513
    appguard license is bit ambiguous as I could not find their license policy anywhere on the website, but if I understand correctly "3 user license" means the license that you buy can be used on Maximum 3 PC's at any given time.

    barb can correct me if I am wrong.
     
  14. flamerz

    flamerz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Posts:
    55
    we have near same apps installed ... :argh:
     
  15. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Barb,

    When I have configured AppGuard correctly, there is no need for me to run AppGuard GUI anymore, is there?


    By the way, why add Microsoft as a publisher? Adding Windows Update to the power aps achieves the same installation freedom without user hassle. Same applies for Google, add Google updater to power aps.

    Focussing on the updaters, makes it easy to apply highest security levels on the threat gate aps (I rather keep IE, Outlook, WMP and Chrome as Guarded and do noty allow them to install anything).

    Regards Kees
     
  16. Brandonn2010

    Brandonn2010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Posts:
    1,853
    What is the ETA on version 4? I have been trying to get my neighbors and some family to get AppGuard, but if version 4 is coming soon I would tell them to wait for it.
     
  17. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    20,590
    Question. I am correct in assuming that if Appguard is on high, and Tamperguard is on, that Appguard protects against these latest Java exploits.

    Pete
     
  18. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    I need to uninstall AG. Is there an uninstall tool or do I just go thru Win7 control panel??
     
  19. Antarctica

    Antarctica Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Posts:
    1,972
    Location:
    Canada
    I uninstalled it through Win7 control panel without any problems.
     
  20. merisi

    merisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Posts:
    316
    I'm currently using EMET 3.0 and I can't help but wonder if appguard is a better alternative. There does seem to be a bit of ambiguity about the license so I don't know if that's an annual price or a life time license. If there's not much difference between the two then EMET for free looks a better choice. Any feedback would be much appreciated.
     
  21. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Sandboxie > Adobe Flash Player > AppGuard conflict.

    A few days back web browsing thru SandBoxie became intolerable due to "non-responsive scripts" - pages open at snails' pace. So I deleted Appguard - no relief. Finally I deleted Flash Player 11 and was back to normal. Browsing through Sandboxie was working again. Then I re-installed AppGuard and the issue is back.

    This only happens within Sandboxie. Firefox outside the Sandbox is not affected. What instruction can we give AppGuard to 'be nice'??
     
  22. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    AppGuard license details as follows: Re: AppGuard 3.x 32/64 Bit
     
  23. safeguy

    safeguy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2010
    Posts:
    1,794
    EMET focuses on breaking exploit attempts at the earlier stages.
    AppGuard aims to deny the payload execution. It also restrict possible harmful actions once a program/script executes.

    Both are designed for 2 separate functions and can be complementary.
     
  24. merisi

    merisi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2012
    Posts:
    316
    Pegr and Safeguy, thanks for the information, I see they have a thirty day trial, I shall give it a go and see how I get on.
     
  25. pegr

    pegr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2008
    Posts:
    2,281
    Location:
    UK
    Let us know if you need any help setting it up. :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.