Appending sizes too large ...

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by WTF, Dec 3, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WTF

    WTF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    If this has been discussed already, I couldn't find it ..

    I set up my system and then use True Image to keep a 'clean' system, I periodically restore it, add whatever new stuff I want, then back it up again.

    when appending first became available, I thought this was perfect.

    Trouble is, I have an image around 10GB, I restore it, add around 100mb of programs and tweaks, the APPEND, the new appends are 10GB too !

    When the system was very new, it would only add about 200mb on top of whatever I added which seemed normal, somehow now, it's not working ...

    When I do a COMPLETE backup, it's the same size, so somewhere along the line it's not recognizing the APPEND

    any help appreciated


    WTF
     
  2. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    Hi

    Do you carry out a defrag in between creating your images?

    TI does in-use sector based imaging. A defrag will change the fingerprint of your HD therefore incremental images are likely to be as large as a complete one.

    Regards
     
  3. WTF

    WTF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Hmmm .... That could be it

    I have diskeeper setup on a schedule to run at night, so it shouldnt be affecting true image the way I use it, I restore the image, add to it, then immed do another image,but I'll take a look just to be sure ...

    thanks
     
  4. Acronis Support

    Acronis Support Acronis Support Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    Posts:
    25,885
    Hello WTF,

    Thank you for using Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.com/homecomputing/products/trueimage/).

    I did understand the procedure you described. The thing is that Acronis True Image does carry out a sector-based backup and when you restore the image the sectors are being resrored not into the same location on the hard disk drive. So the incremental backup would be as big as the full one is and even bigger.

    We recommend you to create a new full backup after installing new software.

    Thank you.
     
  5. Menorcaman

    Menorcaman Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    4,661
    Location:
    Menorca (Balearic Islands) Spain
    If the image being restored was created prior to the scheduled defrag then your post-defrag image size will definitely be affected.

    Regards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.