App Armor and Eset Nod32

Discussion in 'all things UNIX' started by SuperSapien, Dec 30, 2015.

  1. SuperSapien

    SuperSapien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    I would like to install Nod32 on my Linux Desktop. But I'm wondering if I could pair App Armor with it? Ive heard from one source that App Armor conflicts with Eset Nod32 but perhaps this person didn't have App Armor configured correctly or there was an system update that caused problems. So is it safe to run App Armor with Nod32?
     
  2. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    Brasil
    I'm not sure, but you could try to install it and see what happens.

    I think GRSecurity is a better option that AppArmor. Not only because it beats AppArmor and SELinux single-handed, but because it's easier to set policies to applications.

    Would you consider installing it?

    EDIT: It might not be so easy to install it on Ubuntu. Sorry.
     
  3. SuperSapien

    SuperSapien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    Which I am, I'm running Linux Mint. BTW isn't GRSecurity a premium LSM? I know its open source but that doesn't mean free of cost.
    And how difficult is to install on Ubuntu based distros?
    I already use Firejail but I mainly want to reinforce my web-browsers and possibly the firewall and I know App Armor can definitely help reinforce my web-browsers, also it would be nice to add some protection from usb devices like smartphones which Nod32 would would help a liitle. But at the same time I don't want to much protection just enough to reduce infections.
     
  4. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    Brasil
    To tell you the truth, it will be easier to learn how to install Arch Linux + Grsec (which is really easy) than to learn how to compile your own Ubuntu Kernel with grsecurity patches. It's just too many variables.

    The LTS version of GRSec is paid, but the testing versions aren't.
     
  5. SuperSapien

    SuperSapien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    OK thanks for clearing that up. But testing would mean its less stable. And I prefer Debian/Ubuntu based distros like Linux Mint. So I guess App Armor would be more ideal for me. I just want to avoid this: https://forum.eset.com/topic/2096-nod32-conflicts-under-ubuntu-1204/
     
  6. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    Brasil
    Trust me, it's not unstable, Arch developers make up a very stable system, even more than Debian Stable. And it's VERY easy to roll back if a Kernel doesn't work, just do "wget that kernel" (from Arch's archive) and then "pacman -U that-kernel-that-worked". Or if you didn't format your computer, its easier because you just have to install the package that is in /var/cache/pacman.

    May I ask why you're using ESET under Linux?
     
  7. SuperSapien

    SuperSapien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    Either way I prefer Linux Mint. The reason I want Eset on Linux is because I'm dual booting with Windows and having a proper AV in Linux would be helpful if I want scan Windows from Linux to help sniff out infectios and to prevent any malware from loading onto my Windows harddrive.
     
  8. zakazak

    zakazak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Posts:
    523
    May I can give a quick comment/opinion:

    I use Arch with a minimized GNOME installation (only the GNOME parts installed that I need e.g. all online account services arent installed and other crap I dont need) for a few months now and no update/upgrade broke my system so far (running on a touchscreen laptop with nvidia optimus and all kind of crap you can imagine). Also with grsec which is very easy to install on Arch (pacman -S linux-grsec paxd).

    When it comes to ESET you have made a great choice in general (trustable company, good products) but I am not sure if their Linux solutions are up-to-date? ESET Nod32 didnt grt an update for a long time? Did you also look at Sophos Linux AV?

    Sorry that I cant help with grsec/apparmor+ESET/AV but I will follow this thread as I want to do the same setup.
     
  9. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    Brasil
    OK, "no problemo"! :D
    I can only wish you good luck then, because AppArmor/SELinux are very weak in protection, and because it's not so easy/fast to learn how to install GRSec on Debian family distros.
     
  10. SuperSapien

    SuperSapien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    Yeah Nod32 for Linux hasn't had an update since 2012. Thanks for the help amarildojr I just wish GRSec was easier to setup on Debian/Ubuntu.:(
     
  11. AutoCascade

    AutoCascade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Posts:
    626
    Location:
    United States
    There is actually an automated installer that grabs the latest Grsec and shows you the options then installs the kernel.
    I believe this is meant for actual Debian though certainly not Ubuntu and maybe not Mint. LMDE?

    https://github.com/rickard2/grsecurity-Debian-Installer

    I believe in using some extra security as long as you aren't running into issue after issue ruining usability. The unstable Grsec I was able to install ran amok with Chromium and its extensions. I may have used overly restrictive settings or it could have been that patch itself. It's cutting edge security so it has its achs and pains which is why the LTS kernels which they support are superior.
     
  12. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    Brasil
    @AutoCascade That's a very interesting tool! I wish I knew it before ditching Debian. Damn.
     
  13. SuperSapien

    SuperSapien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    So How much does the LTS version cost?
     
  14. AutoCascade

    AutoCascade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Posts:
    626
    Location:
    United States
    They were free but now outside of Arch or Gentoo access has been cut off because companies were using it for commercial products, advertising it's use as a feature and not paying a dime along the way. There may be another distro that can get LTS but not to my knowledge.

    People swear by Arch, it has one of the most loyal & knowledgeable user bases. I tried it & it threw me for a loop because it comes with nothing, no browser, media player - nothing and at the time I didn't have the time to keep at it. I'll probably give it another shot this year.
     
  15. SuperSapien

    SuperSapien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    I'm having some difficulties with version 0.9.36_1. I'm unable to drag and drop files into Dropbox and on Linux Mint KDE 17.2 Private Keep isn't working I keep getting an error message something like invalid command.

    Note: Private Keep works just fine on Linux Mint Cinnamon 17.1 heck it even works properly now on the non-admin account.
     
  16. wat0114

    wat0114 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Posts:
    1,984
    Location:
    Canada
    Try --Private-home. It seems to be the replacement option for --private-keep. For example I use:

    Code:
    firejail --private-home=.config/chromium/ chromium
    for chromium browser. Sorry I don't have any answers for the dropbox issue.
     
  17. SuperSapien

    SuperSapien Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Posts:
    118
    Oops I meant to leave a post on the Firejail thread.:confused:
     
  18. AutoCascade

    AutoCascade Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2014
    Posts:
    626
    Location:
    United States
    I'm trying out Deepin right now which is based on Debian and that GRsec install script doesn't work. Though maybe because I can 'edit as administrator' but not 'run as root'. I haven't given up.
     
  19. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,988
    Location:
    Brasil
    There's always manual configuration, although I get tired by just talking about it :argh:
     
Loading...