Apache blocks after PE installation

Discussion in 'Port Explorer' started by jcc, Jan 20, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jcc

    jcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    I have installed Port Explorer v1.800 Evaluation Version.

    Since then my Apache server is no more answering requests.

    Here is what is happening when doing a request from remote browser (remote PC uses port 1464 and connects to Apache port 9000, which is normal for this application):
    - SYN from remote port 1464 to local port 9000
    - SYN, ACK from 9000 to 1464
    - ACK from 1464 to 9000
    - PSH, ACK from 1464 to 9000, with 463 data bytes, containing the GET request
    - ACK from 9000 to 1464

    Then nothing else. The Apache server should process this request and send back an HTML page. But it doesn't happen. The browser stays pending, waiting for an answer.

    I have ZoneAlarm Pro as firewall. However this problem occurs also without ZA active.

    PE shows the connection between the ports 9000 (local) and 1464 (remote) as ESTABLISHED. However PE doesn't show anything for Apache in its bottom frame.

    If I uninstall PE, Apache works well again...

    All this is happening under Windows 2000 SP 3. Apache version is 1.3.26.

    I tried to stop Apache and PE. Then restart PE, then Apache, then Internet Explorer does a request. You can see below what PE is showing.

    We see local port 9000 connected to remote port 2106 (which is on the local machine), with status ESTABLISHED. We can see some activity in Apache and MySQL when they are starting up. Then we see Internet Explorer but no more Apache activity.

    Apache doesn't process requests arriving from a local or a remote browser. Same problem when accessing Apache on port 80.

    At this point I need some help to make all this work together, as I find PE very useful and would like to use it (and buy it).

    Thanks in advance.

    JCC
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Hi JCC and welcome!
    Are you able to try to upgrade your Apache version to a newer one?
     
  3. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    This is a known issue with Apache versions up to 1.3x . No workaround has been found yet.

    I have been running Apache 2.xx for the past 2 years WITH Port Explorer with no problems. There is previous threads regarding Port Explorer and Apache 1.3 problems you might want to search for them.

    -Jason-
     
  4. jcc

    jcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    Thanks a lot to Jooske and Jason for your answers.

    I'm going to install the latest release of Apache and see how it goes then.

    Thanks again for your help.

    JCC
     
  5. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Please do, and keep us informed how it goes!
     
  6. jcc

    jcc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Posts:
    3
    So I installed Apache 2.0.48 and now all is working perfectly!

    Thanks a lot for your help.

    JCC
     
  7. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Congratulations JCC, enjoy your new Apache and PE!
    Thanks for telling!
     
  8. Jason_DiamondCS

    Jason_DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,046
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia
    Glad to hear it JCC! Now the fun can begin :cool:

    -Jason-
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.