AOMEI Backupper 2.0

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by treehouse786, Apr 4, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. treehouse786

    treehouse786 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Posts:
    1,388
    Location:
    Lancashire
    New Features in AOMEI Backupper 2.0

    Files and folders backup and restore.
    Backup data with command line prompt.
    Backup Scheme allows you to do disk space management.
    Merge multiple incremental backups into one.
    Partition alignment to optimize SSD during the restoring or cloning operation.
    Windows PE bootable media supports EFI/UEFI boot.
    Fully support Windows 8.1 system and some bugs fixed.

    note- some of the above features are only available in the paid version
     
  2. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I didn't know about this program! :)

    I'm using Macrium Reflect FREE, but this one seems to have all I wanted... ;)

    Thanks a lot!
     
  3. OldMX

    OldMX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Posts:
    170
    Awesome little program.
     
  4. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Still does't detect hard disk on my lenovo tablet. :(
     
  5. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    Well impressed with this app.. Easy-to-use and it is quick to do backups.
    It seems to be a good Macrium alternative indeed.
    It is a Incremental option that allows to do quick aditional backups.


    :thumb:
     
  6. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I know that Macrium Reflect FREE is very efficient and just works, and I don't know much about this one...

    Do you also know if it can use images from Macrium?
     
  7. majoMo

    majoMo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Posts:
    938
    It seems not. It uses their own file (*.adi).
     
  8. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    No imaging software can use images made by other imaging software.
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    BTW i sent them two mails a day before, still no response.
     
  10. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Does anyone know exactly why the Professional version clearly states that it has Better Performance and Stability?

    dja2k
     
  11. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I didn't see that, but at least the stability must be the same!
     
  12. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    I shot them an email with my comments and feature requests of their V2 Beta and they sent me a free licence for the pro version in return. Pretty nice.
    This program is very good.
    I only use the boot USB of any imaging programs. I would say Acronis and IFW/IFL is my top 2 choice, the new AOMEI Backupper 2.0 would be my third choice.
     
  13. Masterblaster

    Masterblaster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2013
    Posts:
    260
    Location:
    USA
    I also like this program a lot. I found it the simplest to use of all the backup programs I tried. I began searching for a replacement for Rollback RX/AX64 as both wouldn't work on my W8.1 system. This program does everything I need trouble free.
     
  14. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    Made a boot USB based on WinPE. It does not require ADK to be installed.
    Support UEFI secure boot.
     
  15. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Any one knows if it can restore to a smaller partition or not?
     
  16. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    In theory, it should as long as the imaged data fits in the new partition and it is not a sector by sector restore. That being said, I would prefer to restore to the original size and then resize afterwards. That is the safer approach, especially if it is a bootable partition.
     
  17. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Seems I need to test it for this.
     
  18. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    Acronis can restore to a smaller bootable partition without any problems.

    This will happen especially in restoring from a large HDD image to a small SSD.
     
  19. MisterB

    MisterB Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2013
    Posts:
    1,103
    Location:
    Southern Rocky Mountains USA
    I've done lots of imaging to larger system partitions with the Aomei programs but only one image to a smaller partition and that was a data partition where booting was not an issue. I use both Aomei Backupper and Partition Assistant in tandem. I did most of this last year with versions 1.1 and 1.5 of the program so Backupper 2.0 might do this better. The Aomei software has been excellent for the computer and OS combinations I'm using but that doesn't mean it will work as well for everyone. It is excellent partition and imaging software and, at this point, one of the best free options out there. Most of the others are either limited or have annoying nags to upgrade to the paid version. The Aomei programs are very polite and well behaved in that regard. So are the Paragon programs. Easus is very bad that way and Macrium is ok with just one banner ad for the paid version.
     
  20. andylau

    andylau Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Posts:
    679
    I would like to hear your test result soon.:D
     
  21. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    When I chose system backup aomei selects EFI partition and drive C but it did not select Microsoft reserved partition. So I selected partition backup and chose all the three. On restoring aomei would not restore all at a time. I had to choose each partition separately from the backup and restore them. After restoring when I opened disk management, EFI was no longer shown as EFI partition and it also showed Microsoft reserved partition (which is normally hidden from disk management gui).

    Is Microsoft Reserved partition essential? According to a Wikipedia article it seems so. When I use macrium it selects the reserved partition too.
     
  22. Robin A.

    Robin A. Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2006
    Posts:
    2,278
    MS Reserved partition is supposedly essential. Windows disk manager creates it automatically whenever a disk is initialized as GPT. It´s usually not "recognized" by image managers, and so it´s backed up in sector by sector or raw mode.

    As part of the "system partitions" I´d also include the WinRE Tools partition. It´s not "essential" to boot, but can be useful to "repair" the system and it´s needed to create WinPE boot media using WinRE.

    Since these system partitions are small, my current practice is to back up all of them, including also the OEM diagnostics partitions, if it exists. That is, "system partitions" = all partitions minus data partition(s), minus factory image partition (if it exists). Also, the image program should allow to restore one or several partitions in one operation.
     
  23. oliverjia

    oliverjia Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2005
    Posts:
    1,517
    Thanks for the testing. This really worries me since obviously AB2 changed the partition attributes during the backup/restore process. I thought about using AB2 on some of my Windows 8 laptops. Looks like I'll have to stay with my ATI and IFW boot USB for imaging tasks.

     
  24. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I set AOMEI Backupper 2.0 Free to make a Full backup every month, and want to set Incremental every weekend, but can't find how to do that...

    Some help?
     
  25. timcan

    timcan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2005
    Posts:
    213
    Location:
    USA
    http://www.backup-utility.com/features/schedule-backup.html
    Hi,scroll down the page to advanced settings. Hope this helps.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.