AOL to Charge Same for Dial-Up, Broadband

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by ronjor, Feb 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,728
    Location:
    Texas
    Story
     
  2. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    why anyone would currently pay for aol dialup, when they can get dsl for the same price is beyond me. i guess some people get stuck in their ways, and are resistant (or fearful) of change.
     
  3. crash79`

    crash79` Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    Isle of Bute Scotland
    There are many who have no choice, particularily in the rural areas.
     
  4. thebigdintx

    thebigdintx Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2005
    Posts:
    337
    Location:
    Dallas, Texas
    oh. well, since dsl comes in over the phone line, i figured that anyone with a phone line for dial-up could also get dsl. guess not.
     
  5. MikeBCda

    MikeBCda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2004
    Posts:
    1,627
    Location:
    southern Ont. Canada
    Most providers will tell you that DSL availability depends on your distance from the nearest phone-switching station ... I could be way off, but the figure 5 km (call it 3 miles) vaguely rings a bell.

    Usually no problem in cities, but it could well be unaccessible in rural areas, especially if you're way out in the "boonies".
     
  6. crash79`

    crash79` Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2004
    Posts:
    114
    Location:
    Isle of Bute Scotland
    That might be the case in Texas but certainly not with British Telecom here in Scotland. In my area it was only activated on July 6th last year, and there are many in the rural areas will be very lucky if they ever get it, due to the length of their line and still a rather antiquated exchange. My line was laid in 1940 and has never been touched since. I consider myself fortunate that I can get the maximum the line can support. (256kb)
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.