Anyone using CMC Antivirus free edition?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sg09, Dec 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    This is a Vietnamese antivirus.
    http://www3.cmcinfosec.com/San-pham/CMC-Antivirus/14.epi
    Also available in English version.
    Download link (24.281Mb)
    http:/ /pcu.cmclab.net/download/setupCMCAV.exe

    Difference between paid versions.
    16 (FILEminimizer).jpg

    Runs two processes
    cmccore.exe
    17.jpg
    CMCTrayIcon.exe
    18.jpg
     
  2. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Screenies

    2.jpg

    1.jpg

    5.jpg

    3.jpg

    4.jpg
     
  3. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Screenies

    6.jpg

    8.jpg

    9.jpg

    10.jpg

    11.jpg
     
  4. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Screenies

    12.jpg

    13.jpg

    14.jpg

    15.jpg
     
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Thanks for the screenies. A few questions:

    1- Does CMC need a reboot during installation?

    2- Is CMC's firewall configurable?

    3- During installation of CMC can user decline to install the firewall?

    4- How does CMC "feel" on your computer? Heavy? Light? Other?

    5- Do you have links to any tests of CMC as to its protective abilities?
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Unless they are using a licensed engine, I doubt whether the detection abilities are any great shakes.
     
  7. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    I have used it once and during my testing it has below average detection rate.. Well its basically a regional anti-virus software.. So I am not sure if it is good enough to protect you against other malwares or not..
     
  8. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Hi Bell..:)
    1. No
    2. No, only turnoff/on option.
    3. No
    4. Light. Right now using in real system Windows 7 Home basic 32 bit, 2.5 Gb RAM. 1.88GHz Processor Intel Dual Core.
    5. No

    @BlackCat:
    I am afraid too but it did performed Ok in my test against old malwares.
     
  9. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  10. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,468
    Looks interesting :D
     
  11. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.