Anyone using CMC Antivirus free edition?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by sg09, Dec 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,771
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    This is a Vietnamese antivirus.
    http://www3.cmcinfosec.com/San-pham/CMC-Antivirus/14.epi
    Also available in English version.
    Download link (24.281Mb)
    http:/ /pcu.cmclab.net/download/setupCMCAV.exe

    Difference between paid versions.
    16 (FILEminimizer).jpg

    Runs two processes
    cmccore.exe
    17.jpg
    CMCTrayIcon.exe
    18.jpg
     
  2. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,771
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Screenies

    2.jpg

    1.jpg

    5.jpg

    3.jpg

    4.jpg
     
  3. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,771
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Screenies

    6.jpg

    8.jpg

    9.jpg

    10.jpg

    11.jpg
     
  4. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,771
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Screenies

    12.jpg

    13.jpg

    14.jpg

    15.jpg
     
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    6,153
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Thanks for the screenies. A few questions:

    1- Does CMC need a reboot during installation?

    2- Is CMC's firewall configurable?

    3- During installation of CMC can user decline to install the firewall?

    4- How does CMC "feel" on your computer? Heavy? Light? Other?

    5- Do you have links to any tests of CMC as to its protective abilities?
     
  6. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,024
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Unless they are using a licensed engine, I doubt whether the detection abilities are any great shakes.
     
  7. AvinashR

    AvinashR Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Posts:
    2,060
    Location:
    New Delhi Metallo β-Lactamase 1
    I have used it once and during my testing it has below average detection rate.. Well its basically a regional anti-virus software.. So I am not sure if it is good enough to protect you against other malwares or not..
     
  8. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,771
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Hi Bell..:)
    1. No
    2. No, only turnoff/on option.
    3. No
    4. Light. Right now using in real system Windows 7 Home basic 32 bit, 2.5 Gb RAM. 1.88GHz Processor Intel Dual Core.
    5. No

    @BlackCat:
    I am afraid too but it did performed Ok in my test against old malwares.
     
  9. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,771
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
  10. Noob

    Noob Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    6,488
    Looks interesting :D
     
  11. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,683
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.