Anyone using AOL Active Virus Shield?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by besafe, Apr 16, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. besafe

    besafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    222
    For those that are using it or that have used it:

    1. How frequently do you get spam emails from AOL and it's business affiliates?

    2. How is it on system resources? Good for an older PC?

    3. Has the chkdisk problem been resolved that I saw reported a while ago?
     
  2. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    Havent used it, but why dont you make up an e-mail address which you dont use to get AOL-AVS if you're worried about spam?
     
  3. Hipgnosis

    Hipgnosis Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2003
    Posts:
    297
    Location:
    Witness Protection Program
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    1. Have not received a single spam email from AOL or any business affiliates

    2. I'm not home at the moment so I can't quote you exact usage numbers but it is low. Much lower than Avast which I was using. I have it on several PC's and the oldest one has only 256 MB of RAM.

    3. I have not had a chkdsk issue, and wasn't aware there was one.
     
  4. nicM

    nicM nico-nico

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Posts:
    631
    Location:
    France
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    Never received a single spam either :D

    Cheers,

    nicM
     
  5. Bluenile

    Bluenile Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Posts:
    122
    Location:
    UK
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    1 Had no spam at all in 9 months of using it

    2 Curently using 8Mb of RAM with 2 processes. Very light imo.

    3 I haven't experienced the chkdisk problem.
     
  6. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    I concur with Bluenile.
     
  7. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    same here no spam and no other problems related to AOL.
     
  8. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    just make sure you UNTICK and DONOT install the AOL toolbar
    lodore
     
  9. Legendkiller

    Legendkiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Posts:
    1,052
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    i also used it for quite a while and i had no spam,no cpu usage and no bugs to report here.
    the latest version which they use is 6.0.308
     
  10. Sportsfan1212

    Sportsfan1212 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Posts:
    5
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    Does anyone know when they will update it? I heard that Kaspersky had some security issues with their products.:(
     
  11. python134r

    python134r Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Sunny South Florida
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    Using it for 4/5 months now, used to use Nod32.
    I have not had any problems at all, no spam, 8 mb footprint and no chkdsk problem and no infections but many detections and removals.

    I thinks it does very well at its job, I have used them all in the last 10 years, its free too, better yet.*puppy*
     
  12. besafe

    besafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    222
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    How would AOL Active Virus Shield do in AV Comparatives? Would it test the same as Kaspersky?
     
  13. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    nobody knows when they will update it... security issue will be resolved when AOL-AVS (vista compatible) is released... not sure when that will be released... only Kaspersky and the AOL team knows.
     
  14. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    ...yes, i think... if you click settings and look at the tick-boxes, if there are tick boxes saying "spywares, adwares and dialers" and "riskware" and they are ticked, then yes, detections will definatley be the same
     
  15. tamachan

    tamachan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Posts:
    4
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    Did you notice that "Coming soon for Vista" text has been removed from their site?
     
  16. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    I didnt notice, but remember someone on the Kaspersky forum mantioning that... dont know what that means... i dont think vista compatible version has been released yet... if it was released i'm sure they'll mention on their site "now vista compatible".
    they may have removed it because they decided to not release vista compatible soon, i dont know, go figure! :D
     
  17. besafe

    besafe Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Posts:
    222
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    Can you use AOL Active Virus Shield for more than a year if you re-gister after the one yeare period?

    Or is it strictly free for one year?
     
  18. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    I have renewed using same eMail address, and they issued new license with no questions or hassles.
     
  19. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
    Re: Anyoen using AOL Active Virus Shield?

    Correct. I think you can use the same email and request 10 codes until you are asked to use a different email. The codes should not countdown until you activate them.
     
  20. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Their support center has improved greatly too, since they started the offer. When I 1st installed AVS, I couldn't find their support center. In the last 3 months I've submitted 2 "bugs" (updating errors), and both were resolved within 6-8 hours.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.