Anyone Use RAAC?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by whitedragon551, Sep 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    Just found this here. Considering using that and putting UAC on full and keeping PrevX SOL and AVG or Immunet Protect Plus.

    Anyone have any insight about the program, process, theory behind it, if it actually works, free alternatives, etc.?

    http://www.pcmag.com/article2/0,2817,2364105,00.asp
     
  2. sg09

    sg09 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    Posts:
    2,713
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Looks like a great app...:)
     
  3. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    Yes, interesting concept. I did check for a freeware but found nothing.

    Btw, what would mean:
    "It's also important to note that RAAC runs programs under the System account. This is not the same as elevating a user account" ?

    Wider spectrum of admin privileges this way?
     
  4. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    Sounds to me like they run under a full admin account with UAC enabled. Only the programs listed in RAAC can run as admin.
     
  5. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    It's probably related to this note that I had overview at first read:

    "NOTE: Apps launched by RAAC are run under the 'real' administrator account. This might cause some unexpected consequences. For example, if you select an app such as FireFox, and use the built-in Win7 Run As Administrator to launch it, all your settings are still there (bookmarks, etc) and Firefox is now running as an elevated process. If you use RAAC to run it, Firefox is running under the System account so none of your settings are loaded for that app."
     
  6. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    I wonder how it's possible for this program to work? Seems like it reveals a new attack vector for malware to bypass UAC.
     
  7. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    It sure does, but it looks as though it can't be trialed, having to be bought first, or does someone know of a trial download? it's only $8, so if it works as advertised, I'd buy it for sure.
     
  8. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    You could try emailing the coder here:

    http://www.seamistsoftware.com/contact.aspx
     
  9. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

  10. Konata Izumi

    Konata Izumi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Posts:
    1,544
    Is this safe? :doubt:
     
  11. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2010
  12. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    How did this go for you, whitedragon?

    This isn't working the way I expected when tested in the vm; it creates shortcuts only for the admin account, even though I selected the option to install for Everyone. It puts the two shortcuts in the user accounts start menu but when launching them i get digital signature of setup.msi was rejected :( I ended launching them from the program's directory as administrator which worked but then of course the shortcuts I create are placed only in the admin's account desktop.
     
  13. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    I believe its meant to be used on an admin account with UAC enabled. It creates a program shortcut that bypasses the UAC prompt.
     
  14. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    I'm hoping for something similar to SuRun, where a selected standard account can launch selected apps automatically with admin rights, eliminating the need to provide credentials every time.
     
  15. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    Thats basically what RAAC does. From the looks of it you create a whitelist that will allow any program on the list to run as admin without the UAC prompt.
     
  16. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Hopefully it works that way from within a standard account. I've emailed the author asking about that functionality as well as a trial use.
     
  17. MrBrian

    MrBrian Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Posts:
    6,032
    Location:
    USA
  18. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
  19. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    I'm happy to report RAAC works as I'd hoped it would under a Standard account. The author had emailed, ensuring me it works under a Standard account. It's $8 well spent imo :) Thanks again whitedragon for the tip on this utility.
     
  20. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    Did you ever get a trail of the software?
     
  21. ruinebabine

    ruinebabine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Posts:
    1,097
    Location:
    QC
    I also asked them for a possible trial, will see what it will give.
     
  22. whitedragon551

    whitedragon551 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Posts:
    3,188
    Location:
    USA
    How is it in terms of resource usage? Does it startup with the PC as a program or service or neither?
     
  23. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    Answers in screenshots. A service does start as well as an application.

    from the RAAC Help file:

     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 15, 2010
  24. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    I've read the info on the link to this app. It seems as though it's selling point is for apps that are blocked by UAC on startup. Why the need to use an extra app for this?
     
  25. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    An example might be Secunia's PSI, where it needs admin privileges to run, so RAAC could start it this way in a LUA account. Others might be, for example, running the command line as admin or updating antivirus defs such as my free MBAM app, or Java. This way I don't need to type credentials every time. I have the AppLocker rule that allows only my LUA account to use RAAC.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.