anyone know how to crush abnoxious floating ads

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Bethrezen, Feb 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi all

    i guess the title of this thread says it all

    i was surfing the net to day and came across a few sight where dispite my best efforts i wasnt able to block the ads

    nither firefox or spyblocker was able to stop them

    whats worse is that thay where thoughs really anoyin abxoxious DHTML floting ads

    so i was wondering if anyone know how to crush these pests with out the need for addational programs

    if possable does anyone know what filter i need to add to my pacfile to stop these ?
     
  2. Q Section

    Q Section Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Posts:
    771
    Location:
    Headquarters - London & Field Offices -Worldwide
    Maxthon has a built-in Float ad blocker which works quite well.
    WWW.MAXTHON.COM
     
  3. gud4u

    gud4u Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Posts:
    206
    The 'Common Ads Shield' in Spy Sweeper is very effective.

    In the IE browser, clicking into Tools/Internet Options/Privacy Tab/Advanced and setting IE to 'Block Third-Party Cookies' will help a bit.

    Hope this helps!
     
  4. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi

    thanks for ya suggestions but it would appear that thay dont help my current situation much

    becaues i dont use ie or any ie related browser

    nice try though
     
  5. Ailric

    Ailric Guest

    Firefox plus adblock extension plus adblock script are pretty effective. Maybe try Admuncher?
     
  6. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Such ads most likely use Macromedia Flash so any web filter that can remove Flash (e.g. Proxomitron includes a Flash filer in its default setup, Outpost Firewall 2.5's Active Content filter can remove Flash on a site-by-site basis) should block them. You could also delete the Flash plugin itself if you wished to banish such things completely and totally.
     
  7. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    I think Bethrezen want some kind of script, an all in one script to crush those ads. like a pacfile but then solely for ads.
     
  8. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi

    first id like to say thanks for your replys

    Paranoid this isnt the case in this instance becaues i use firefox with flash block installed here is a example of the sort of thing i am refairing to

    http://willmaster.com/possibilities/demo/adfloater/adfloater.html

    Spanner

    i sure spywareblaster is a fine app but isnt it redundent as i

    A.) dont use ie
    B.) have spywarestopper and spyblocker installed

    also i am aware if proximo but the reasion i dont use is is becaues its about as user friendley as a brick over the head the other problem with the aproch that proximo takes is that as everthing needs to be loaded through the filters this slows the loding of the page
     
    Last edited: Mar 7, 2005
  9. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    For that Test link example....disable Active script in IE and they want float....As noted at that link with IE's Active script disabled. As for Firefox....I have no clue how to disable the script action.

    "Only JavaScript enabled browsers can use the demonstration".
     
  10. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,729
    Location:
    Texas
    It's not that bad. Unzip it, enter the numbers in your browser, and pick a preconfigured filter to use.
    If it were slow, I would not use it.
     
  11. Doesn't work in firefox even with javascript enabled. But for dealing with CSS popups or any annoyance at all , the new and powerful RIP http://rip.mozdev.org/ plus adblock is up to dealing with anything at all.

    This extension has been heavily inspired by the excellent work of 2 other extensions (Nuke Anything) and (Greasemonkey). Nuke Anything is beautiful simple, just point and remove, but unfortunately doesn't remember these removals. Greasemonkey provides the ability to run user defined scripts automatically when a page matches a given regular expression. What Rip tries to do is keep the simplicity of Nuke Anything but merging it with some of the "power" of greasemonkey.

    More about RIP (taken from webpage)

    "Rip has the following features:

    * "Remove It Permanently" Context menu popup
    * Undo last removal from the Edit menu
    * Toolbar notification that Rip has removed items on the current page
    * Tooltip showing statistics of what has been removed
    * Temporarily display pages without being Ripped.
    * Options Dialog to allowing configuration of Rip's
    * Full wildcard support in both matching URL's and finding content
    * XPath viewer to test XPath's used in a Rip"


    It's very easy to use you can remove anything (unlike adblock which can do only images and external scripts), and generalise it to cover not just that page but all pages in the same domain.

    And it remembers!!

    Since most sites use the same template, one use is that you can 'nuke' the tables or divs that house the ads and apply it to all the pages in the same site.

    RIP + Adblock = Unbeatable combo!
     
  12. Bubba

    Bubba Updates Team

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Posts:
    11,271
    Perhaps you can tell Bethrezen how you are blocking the javascript induced floating ads ?

    Code:
    <script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript">
    <!-- Copyright 2001 William Bontrager
    var Type = 'Z'; function StartFloat()
    
     
  13. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi

    looks intresting but i have a question does RIP block or does it just hide

    the reasion i ask is becaues just hiding it from view isnt a lot of good as this wont speed up the loading of web pages where as if its prevented from ever loading (blocked) then pages should load quicker

    also where do i down load it as there dont seem to be a download link
     
  14. cluessnewbie

    cluessnewbie Guest

    Bethrezen it hides I believe.

    Bubba, No idea, I'm truly clueless.

    Cluessnewbie.
     
  15. dog

    dog Guest

    Hi Bethrezen, ;)

    You can get Rip (Remove it Permanently) - http://rip.mozdev.org/

    Yes it 'hides' items ... but regardless ... of the fact if doesn't provide any gain toward page loading ... aesthetically it's a wonderful tool. :)

    Steve
     
  16. Bethrezen

    Bethrezen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    hi

    True
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.