ANYONE HERE...... HELP!!

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by falconaire, Nov 9, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    :( I have a problem regarding my newly formatted computer. When I were installing some programs an error message always occurs. Mostly "setup cannot continue, file is corrupted or damage". But when I tried my installers on other pc 's they work very well. Anyone here who can help me? What it is that may have the defect? Is it the harddrive or the motherboard or anything else?

    :doubt:
     
  2. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    If you are trying to install them from a CD, and sense they will install fine on other PCs`, my guess would be your optical drive either needs cleaning or is going bad.
     
  3. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Mr. Thunderz thanks for your reaction about my problem. So how can I solve it if it's going bad? Should I replace my harddrive? Hope for your reply.
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    It would be your cd drive not the Hdd. You might try one of the cd lens cleaners available almost at every computer store or music store and stores like W-M. I would try to clean it before i replaced it;)
     
  5. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Probably hardware problem, maybe hard disk, maybe mainboard, maybe optical disk or maybe cable. My advise is:-

    1) Try to change the Paralle Cable, which conected to the hard disk between your motherboard.

    2) if problem still can't be solved, try change the cable which connected between your mainboard and optical drives(CD-ROM, CD-RW, DVD-ROM).

    Hope my advise can help you.
     
  6. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Thankz big c and adrian for the suggestions, I've tried it all but still doesn't works. I just found a new error message "NSIS error" when I installed some of those programs which closes them.... o_O o_O o_O
     
  7. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    Ok, NSIS (Nullsoft Scriptable Install System) is a professional open source system to create Windows installers. It is designed to be as small and flexible as possible and is therefore very suitable for internet distribution.

    Which means the Installer that you are trying to run is corrupted. So, try to re-download the installer again.

    I think your problem is Software Conflict, such as Windows Installer 1.0 and Windows Installer 2.0 installed together will have conflict. so, can you give me a list of all the program you have installed?

    Since your NSIS software conflict, you download an installer which created using NSIS will have error when you try to install it. So, it is better you give me a list of program you have install.

    You can download this program and click TOOLS on left side, then click SAVE TO FILE on right side.
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2006
  8. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Oh I see. So it's a conflict.... Ok these are the programs I would like to install but causing that errors.

    - O2Jam
    - RanOnline
    - Flyff
    - Gunbound WC
    - RakionSEA
    - AVG Free
    - Mozilla Firefox 1.0
    - Counter Strike 1.3

    I think thats it....

    Thanx again. I'll follow ur advise
     
  9. adrianyujs

    adrianyujs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2005
    Posts:
    138
    Location:
    Kuala Lumpur
    No no no... What I means is the installation CURRENTLY INSTALLED in your Operating System. Not the program you want to install.
     
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Hello there falconaire,

    Could you please tell the folk's listening at home which operating system your currently experiencing this "conflict" on?


    GF
     
  11. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Sorry about that.....

    So here's what I've already installed..

    - Win98 OS
    - VIA 4 in 1 chipset
    - Realtek Audio Driver
    - USB roothub
    - Fast Ethernet Adapter
    - TNT Riva (Sparkle Video Card)
    - Direct X 9.0
    - Internet Explorer 6.0
    - Macromedia Flash

    I guess that's it.

    Sorry for misunderstanding....
     
  12. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    "Sorry ...."

    Don't you worry falconaire, he's learning (I think) helping other's can be fun, fun, fun! :D


    GF
     
  13. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    HELP HERE PLZ...

    I have a firefox error message on my computer. How can I solve this problem. Every time this error message occurs, it closes all firefox windows and i have to start again surfing the internet. Help here plz. o_O o_O o_O
     
  14. divedog

    divedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    Posts:
    265
    Location:
    Seabeck WA
    Do you have an Nvidia graphics card? I had that happen once, in my case it turned out to be the Nvidia firewall they had on the drivers cd, uninstalled the firewall and all was good.
     
  15. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    falconaire,

    It's important you reply with the *exact* error message to gain assistance.
    Either type down what it say's or look here for instruction's on posting a screenshot, this way we might be able to help you.


    GF
     
  16. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Sorry for the inconviniece Mr. GlobalForce. Mr. Divedog, do I have to uninstall all the Nvidia Components?? How can I do that? Please guide me and give some instructions. :doubt:

    Thanx for the quick response...
     
  17. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    No inconvenience at all Mr.falconaire. :D Just trying to help you, help us!

    Go here (you'll get at least one shot) - http://www.experts-exchange.com/Operating_Systems/WinXP/Q_20722782.html, scroll down past the ad's and *review* the possible reason's (as was previously mentioned) it may very well have to do with some aspect involving either your media or cd-rom. If your convinced it doesn't, what do you make of this poster's suggestion concerning that NSIS error of your's?


    GF
     
  18. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Mr. GlobalForce I think that's a big help for me. Thank you. But Mr. GlobalForce are there other sites like that with free subscription. I'm not that rich sir, just dropping by to hope for a good response from all of the posters......
     
  19. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    OK, so you taken the other poster's advice on cleaning the cd-rom - "I've tried it all but still doesn't works."

    Put a few of those program's that won't install on a floppy or flash drive, then copy them to your hard-drive and try installing.
    This should let you know right away whether something's up with the cd-rom.


    GF
     
  20. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    OK Mr. Global, I'll take ur advise........ :)
     
  21. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Hey Mr.Falcon,

    Maybe if you've tried and when you have a moment you could provide us with an update?
    I think we'd all like to know if it was the drive or not.


    GF
     
  22. falconaire

    falconaire Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    36
    Hey, thanks to Mr. divedog, his suggestion helped me very good....... I just uninstalled the nvidia software then reinstall it and it works well now. About the NSIS error, I bought a new hard drive to replace it. I don't know if its the cd rom or the drivers. Takes a long time to fix it, afterall nothing very good really happens. But then thanks for the suggestions, especially to you Mr. GF :). Everythings working fine now. Hope to help me again if other conflicts will exist.....


    I'm on vacation the other day, I just thought no one would reply but thanks a lot Mr. GlobalForce.
     
  23. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2004
    Posts:
    3,581
    Location:
    Garden State, USA
    Good to hear Mr.Falconaire Sir! Never know who's gonna post with just the right info during your time of need. Pretty nice of Mr.Wilder's to provide such a great support community where comment's and suggestion's like the one which helped you may be freely submitted, hmm? Don't worry yourself over any lack of help should other problem's arise, someone's sure to chime in. If your still on holiday, enjoy yourself and say hi to the native's for me! :D

    GF
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.