Anyone here familiar with connecting to the internet via socks proxy?

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by Socio, Mar 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    170
    I am getting real frustrated because I can not figure out to connect to the internet via a socks proxy. I have tried using Putty and SocksCap I am able to login with either app to the server but can not connect to the internet via it in any way. I have tried with my firewall on and off so I know it has nothing to do with it. The extent of the instructions I was given via an e-mail from the service that I signed up with was:
    It seems to me once I am connected and logged in a tunnel should already be in place and internet connectivity usable. Apparently that is now how it works so if anyone is familiar with this please enlighten me.

    I signed up for a socks proxy because it was supposed to be the easiest to setup and use, not so says me.
     
  2. Down_Under

    Down_Under Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Posts:
    56
    Location:
    Brisbane,Qld,Australia
  3. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    You should consider a cheap SSH account (they're practically giving them away now) and a program called, "Safe Passage."
    It's everything you need. Basically, it's your own personal anonymizer service. You connect via Safe Passage to an SSH account and surf away....
    http://vast-range.com/
    They even offer a full-blown three day trial of the package.

    Let me know what you think.
    I find this concept very interesting.
     
  4. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    170
    From what I have heard about safe passage it is actually nothing more than a fancy gui for Putty.


    Socks for all intense and purposes is better than just a SSH connection anyway unless I am missing something although if I can never connect to it properly it is pretty useless.
     
  5. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    Socio,

    Are you starting your browser through Sockscap? You need to do this to "Socksify" its traffic. Alternatively, some browsers (e.g. Firefox) can connect to a Socks proxy directly.
     
  6. Socio

    Socio Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    170
    Yes, I even tried it with Outpost shut down still can't connect to the internet, I may just switch form SOCKs to SSH tunnel instead, it will be slower but should be les problematic.
     
  7. Paranoid2000

    Paranoid2000 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Posts:
    2,839
    Location:
    North West, United Kingdom
    What does SocksCap's log report?
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.