Anyone heard of "IB Service"?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by claretblue, Nov 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. claretblue

    claretblue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Ireland
    I've been having a few problems with Windows reloading on Start Up.
    Found a strange entry in Services - IB Service, with no other info given.
    Did the usual google search but couldn't find one computer related entry!
    Coincidence or what?
     
  2. MikeNash

    MikeNash Security Expert

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Posts:
    1,654
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    IBService might be Borland's Interbase database.
     
  3. claretblue

    claretblue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hi Mike,
    I'm not aware I have anything connected with Borland on my PC.
    I disabled IB Service but the problem still persists. Will keep on
    looking.
    Arch
     
  4. Hermescomputers

    Hermescomputers Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,069
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario, Canada, eh?
    Can you send me a runscanner report?
    You can download the utility here: http://www.runscanner.net
    Use beginer mode and e-mail the report to me + save the output as binary .run file (I can send it back to you with proper editing.)
    support@hermes-computers.ca
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2007
  5. SpikeyB

    SpikeyB Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    478
  6. claretblue

    claretblue Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    Location:
    Ireland
    Hi All

    Yes, problem solved, I discovered that it is Invisible Browsing, as reported by SpikeyB. A "friend" had installed it and didn't tell me about it. Thanks for all your replies.
    Arch
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.