Anyone have trouble with today's ESET update?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by jadinolf, Jun 14, 2021.

  1. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    The update ran fine but now I don't get the graphic indicating that my external disks are working and ready to go.
    I DO get the graphic when they are disconnected.
    Same thing on all six computers.
    I would post on the ESET Forum but I don't want to get scolded. :(
     
  2. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,739
    I don't get it. Why do you think you would get scoded on the ESET Forum? What is this forum for? It's a support forum, isn't it?
     
  3. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    Yeah but they are soooo fussy I gave up on it.
    Just curious if I am the only one experiencing this.
    Hard to believe.
     
  4. Buddel

    Buddel Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Posts:
    1,739
    OK, I see.
     
  5. Minimalist

    Minimalist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2014
    Posts:
    14,756
    Location:
    Slovenia, EU
    I'm not sure which graphic indicator you have in mind. When I connect my external drive I get notification with options to scan it and also get systray icon indicating that external drive is connected.

    Though, I installed last version from scratch and did not update from previous version.
     
  6. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    If you are referring to the ESET notification with scan options, I can confirm that this non-notification occurs on one of my external drives. I reported this to ESET during beta testing and a bug was confirmed. Unfortunately it seems the fix didn't make it into v14.2.10.0
     
  7. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    Since none of mine work anymore, I am referring to the little flag that pops up and tells me that
    The drive is ready. That's what I am NOT getting when I turn the drive off, I DO get the flag indicating that I turned it off.
     
  8. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    That is good news. Thanks very much.
    I've been checking the ESET forum and I found nothing.
    Let's see if it's fixed tomorrow.
     
  9. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,454
    Feel free to post in our forum whenever you encounter an issue that you cannot sort out yourself or if you have a question to ask ;) I can assure you that we don't scold anybody.
    Of course, there are situations when users post something which is against the forum rules but even then we try to explain what they did wrong and how they should report the issue properly so that either we at the forum or the local ESET distributor can help with a resolution.
     
  10. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    Has anyone found a good report on this problem?
    Sure wish they would get with it.
     
  11. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    Still no update.
    I wonder if ESET is just going to ignore that problem?
    I doesn't sound like something ESET would do but it shouldn't take that long to fix.
     
  12. stackz

    stackz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Posts:
    645
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Hi @jadinolf Is this the notification that you are referring to?

    Screenshot (3).png

    If it's this, then AFAIK the fix will have to come in a future version update, it's not possible to fix the issue through a module update.
    [​IMG]
     
  13. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    Thanks for the information. Yes, that is it.
    Sounds like baloney to me.
     
  14. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    8,520
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Are the drives NAS based?
     
  15. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
  16. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    SUMO indicates ESET command line interface (64 bits) updated from 10.18.46.0 to 10.21.23.0 and ESET Main GUI (64 bits) from 14.1.20.0 to 14.2.10.0. Since I could not update from EST Internet Security itself I emailed ESET to verify and find out how to download the updates. I received from ESET verification that there was a new version, ESET 14.2.10.0 and instructions on how to 1) Download ESET Internet Security, 2) Uninstall my current version, and 3) Reinstall ESET Internet Security. A rather poor way for a customer to have to update a paid product. Has anyone else experienced this? Before I do this I wanted to ask our members what they thought.
     
  17. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    So we have to reinstall Internet Security and then resist the message to update the old version. That is ridiculous.
    Yes, I have experienced it and I'm sure thousands of others have as well. I can live with this problem but I have never seen a name brand company operating in this manner.
    Let's see if they actually go without fixing the problem.
    Perhaps they could call Kaspersky if they have their phone number.;)
    For the record, I have six computers using ESET products but I'm sure they couldn't care less.
    Thanks for the post.
     
  18. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Exactly, I didn't know whether to ignore SUMO or do what their instructions say to do. Since it isn't something I have done to cause the problem I don't feel I should be responsible to fix it. But apparently that isn't the way ESET feels. Bad way to do business.
     
  19. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    I agree with you 100%
    I never expected that behavior from ESET.

    For the record, I have seen nothing from SUMO.....
     
  20. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,454
    1, ESET provides seamless updates to newer product version without the need for the user to do anything. V14.2 has been released very recently so not all users received update to it immediately at the same time. ESET should have updated to v14.2 automatically within a couple of days after the release at maximum. Also the following can enforce update to the latest version:
    - switching to the pre-release update channel
    - running manual update

    2, >> I wonder if ESET is just going to ignore that problem?
    No. The issue is tracked and has been fixed. The fix will be included in future v14.2 hotfix builds and in v15+.
     
  21. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    Good news.
    Are we talking days, weeks or months when hotfix or V15 is released?
     
  22. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,454
    V14.2 has just been released so it will take at least a couple of weeks for the next service build to be available.
     
  23. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    Thank you very much Marcos.
     
  24. jadinolf

    jadinolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    1,047
    Location:
    Southern California
    Week one is done.
    Any news?
     
  25. jpcummins

    jpcummins Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Posts:
    564
    Location:
    Terre Haute, IN
    Of the instructions I received from ESET in post #16, number 2) Uninstall my current version, failed. It left the Uninstallation option greyed out. I contacted ESET and an agent uninstalled my current version and then reinstalled the updated version. The agent was an exceptional representative of ESET. But, in my opinion, if a paid product, or for that matter any product, is going to offer updates, the updates should be able to be accomplished from the program itself.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.