Anyone have slowdowns with the new EWIDO?

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by Slovak, Aug 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Slovak

    Slovak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    I haven't been reading the whole EWIDO update thread, but has anyone running EWIDO on a win2k machine noticed any slowdowns? Like certain programs like explorer being slower than normal to start? some downloads too? Also a few web pages here and there are slow to load too. All this disappears when I shutdown EWIDO.
     
  2. FlashGordon

    FlashGordon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Posts:
    27
    I have it on Win XP Pro, and have noticed a slowdown also. Even trying to start a program from the start button, there has been hesitation. It started after upgrade which came with the active guard,antihijack resident scanner, and automatic update. I had to turn them off to get everything to run normally again. i primarily use Ewido as on demand scanner any way. Have you noticed a slight delay in shutting down pc? I'm not sure if its related?
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Same here, XP Pro, SP2. I have turned off "Monitor Files" and speed has picked straight back up...

    Cheers :D
     
  4. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Same here too, XP Home, sp1. Slows Perfectdisk to a crawl, it takes forever just to analyze, but as Blackspear says, turning off "monitoring files", and speed is back. :)
     
  5. Optimist

    Optimist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    90
    I have two computers. On the two computers are working Kaspersky Anti-Virus 5.0 and Ewido. A computer has got substantially slower by Ewido. Hardly anything has to be noticed at the other computer.
    Windows XP Home, Pentium P4 2,6 GHz/3.0 GHz, 512 MB RAM/504 MB RAM
     
  6. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    I get a second or so pause when opening apps, doing things. Turned it off, problem went away.
     
  7. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    it is crazy how much memory it uses . with me it uses 40!!!! mb and I tried unchecking everything but remains 30mb.

    this is not good. I have a P4 2.8 HT with 512 ddr 3200 . do not understand.
    this is tooooo much.

    I uninstalled it to see if it changes in the future. if this will drop I definately will buy it.
     
  8. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    Wow, 40Mb...

    Currently with 1Gb of pc3200 it's running at 12.9Mb of mem but I've seen it as high as 24Mb. I figure that's pretty average for compared to a typical AV.

    I have noticed a second or two pause when opening apps.
     
  9. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,749
    Location:
    EU
    Ewido:13.8 Mb
    AV: 12.8 Mb

    Just a very little bit slower
     
  10. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    I have no profit here by stating this, like I said I would buy Ewido.

    maybe some software conflicting... do not know. I guess I had to paste my taskmanager so this was proven. sorry for not having done this.

    seems like bashing after all...but is not.


    sorry. :'(
     
  11. Slovak

    Slovak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    I just turned it off too, hopefully this will help. If this is the case this is not exactly what I would call competition with TDS3 since TDS doesen't "slow" down my computer when I have used it in the past.
     
  12. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    We're currently trying to get rid of the speed issue but we need some people testing special builds. Any volunteers? :)
     
  13. Slovak

    Slovak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    PM me, I am interested in testing special builds
     
  14. tao

    tao Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Hi all,

    I also have so slow down with Ewido if "monitor files" is on.
    More I had another pb with NOD32.
    Both were detecting Sorko worms, but no one could delete it :-(
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Try booting your system into Safe Mode and running a scan.

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
  16. Optimist

    Optimist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    90
    I would like to test new versions.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.