Anyone have slowdowns with the new EWIDO?

Discussion in 'other anti-trojan software' started by Slovak, Aug 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Slovak

    Slovak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    I haven't been reading the whole EWIDO update thread, but has anyone running EWIDO on a win2k machine noticed any slowdowns? Like certain programs like explorer being slower than normal to start? some downloads too? Also a few web pages here and there are slow to load too. All this disappears when I shutdown EWIDO.
     
  2. FlashGordon

    FlashGordon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2004
    Posts:
    27
    I have it on Win XP Pro, and have noticed a slowdown also. Even trying to start a program from the start button, there has been hesitation. It started after upgrade which came with the active guard,antihijack resident scanner, and automatic update. I had to turn them off to get everything to run normally again. i primarily use Ewido as on demand scanner any way. Have you noticed a slight delay in shutting down pc? I'm not sure if its related?
     
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Same here, XP Pro, SP2. I have turned off "Monitor Files" and speed has picked straight back up...

    Cheers :D
     
  4. Don Pelotas

    Don Pelotas Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2004
    Posts:
    2,257
    Same here too, XP Home, sp1. Slows Perfectdisk to a crawl, it takes forever just to analyze, but as Blackspear says, turning off "monitoring files", and speed is back. :)
     
  5. Optimist

    Optimist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    90
    I have two computers. On the two computers are working Kaspersky Anti-Virus 5.0 and Ewido. A computer has got substantially slower by Ewido. Hardly anything has to be noticed at the other computer.
    Windows XP Home, Pentium P4 2,6 GHz/3.0 GHz, 512 MB RAM/504 MB RAM
     
  6. tazdevl

    tazdevl Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2004
    Posts:
    837
    Location:
    AZ, USA
    I get a second or so pause when opening apps, doing things. Turned it off, problem went away.
     
  7. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    it is crazy how much memory it uses . with me it uses 40!!!! mb and I tried unchecking everything but remains 30mb.

    this is not good. I have a P4 2.8 HT with 512 ddr 3200 . do not understand.
    this is tooooo much.

    I uninstalled it to see if it changes in the future. if this will drop I definately will buy it.
     
  8. se7engreen

    se7engreen Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Posts:
    369
    Location:
    USA
    Wow, 40Mb...

    Currently with 1Gb of pc3200 it's running at 12.9Mb of mem but I've seen it as high as 24Mb. I figure that's pretty average for compared to a typical AV.

    I have noticed a second or two pause when opening apps.
     
  9. gerardwil

    gerardwil Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2004
    Posts:
    4,748
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ewido:13.8 Mb
    AV: 12.8 Mb

    Just a very little bit slower
     
  10. Infinity

    Infinity Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    2,651
    I have no profit here by stating this, like I said I would buy Ewido.

    maybe some software conflicting... do not know. I guess I had to paste my taskmanager so this was proven. sorry for not having done this.

    seems like bashing after all...but is not.


    sorry. :'(
     
  11. Slovak

    Slovak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    I just turned it off too, hopefully this will help. If this is the case this is not exactly what I would call competition with TDS3 since TDS doesen't "slow" down my computer when I have used it in the past.
     
  12. peter.ewido

    peter.ewido former ewido team

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    737
    Location:
    Brno, Czech Republic
    We're currently trying to get rid of the speed issue but we need some people testing special builds. Any volunteers? :)
     
  13. Slovak

    Slovak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    515
    Location:
    Medina, Ohio
    PM me, I am interested in testing special builds
     
  14. tao

    tao Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Posts:
    8
    Hi all,

    I also have so slow down with Ewido if "monitor files" is on.
    More I had another pb with NOD32.
    Both were detecting Sorko worms, but no one could delete it :-(
     
  15. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Try booting your system into Safe Mode and running a scan.

    Hope this helps...

    Cheers :D
     
  16. Optimist

    Optimist Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Posts:
    90
    I would like to test new versions.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.