Anyone Have Issues With The Latest Win 7 Updates Released Today?

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by itman, Apr 9, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    This was the wildest update have I encountered since I have installed Win 7.

    After updates completed, I got the usual reboot popup. Before I could respond, PC rebooted itself auto and then hung. Tried to use reset button on the PC - a no go. Tried to force power off my pressing the power off button on the PC for 5 secs. No go? That has never happened before. Finally pulled the power plug to shut down.

    Upon reboot had this large font white characters scrolling across the lower part of the monitor stating various registry keys were being loaded? Again, never saw that before.

    Finally PC rebooted and displayed the usual configuation message about updates being applied. Reboot completed and all is fine presently.

    Weirdest thing I have seen in a while:rolleyes:
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    Normal update here on two computers.
     
  3. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    I haven't been offered them yet, hopefully I won't have issues. I hate Patch Tuesdays.
     
  4. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,829
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
    Same here.
     
  5. siljaline

    siljaline Former Poster

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2003
    Posts:
    6,619
  6. Mman79

    Mman79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    Posts:
    2,016
    Location:
    North America
    All went well here.
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    That's something I used to see occasionally in Vista, but I have not seen it ever in Win 7. I haven't installed today's updates yet, but I don't expect any problems...
     
  8. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Smooth update, must be specific to your system.

    .. Microsoft must have seen your forum post regarding EMET phoning home. heh
     
  9. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    Lol... a special present for the itman...
     
  10. The Hammer

    The Hammer Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Posts:
    5,619
    Location:
    Toronto Canada
    No problems here and no EMET either.
     
  11. mechBgon

    mechBgon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2013
    Posts:
    68
    Location:
    USA
    What you're describing would be a hardware problem. Pushing the Reset button on the chassis doesn't involve Windows or any OS in any way, that's a direct hardware function. I would take this as a warning sign from your hardware: back up your data if you haven't done so lately, and check your power-supply voltages for anything more than ~5% off target.

    I updated ten systems at work and one at home (mostly Win8, plus a Windows Home Server 2011 and three Win7). They went OK.
     
  12. new2security

    new2security Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Posts:
    492
    I've seen this on Windows 7 Home Premium but I don't recall seeing it on the Pro version.
    And no patching problems. I only select security patches, and tend to avoid recommendable (such as the recent platform update, IE 10 etc)
     
  13. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    People tends to press and release the power button to quick, they count wayyy to fast. I always tell people to press and hold the power button for 5-10 seconds or however long it takes for the computer to shutoff. ;)
     
  14. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I did have EMET on at time of updating and I also have DEP on for system and applications. The later might be the culprit since I do have Office 2010 installed and this last update had a ton of Office 2010 updates.
     
  15. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,936
    Location:
    London On
    Good Evening! Itman...while installing latest updates...and after the reboot...the Windows screen took longer than usual to boot. After that glitch everything resorted back to a normal state. I'm using Windows 7 Home Premium. Sincerely...Securon
     
  16. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses

    As a guy who "proved" emet was phoning home via the FW logs I expect a special W 7 update as well! :D
     
  17. Escalader

    Escalader Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2005
    Posts:
    3,710
    Location:
    Land of the Mooses
    Well I imaged my c partition first then selectively updated with no wild screens appearing.

    Left out silverlight, IE10, bing and the optional w7 64 bit security update.

    I was not convinced my Dell notebook would be compatible with it.
     
  18. learningcurve

    learningcurve Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    usa
    Itman, I also noticed this info on the Windows startup screen indicating an update 16589 (?)and changes to some reg files. I have also seen this once per re-install from scratch and updating with the 120 or so updates (win 7 Pro) . It did not occur to me that it may be unusual. Wondering if it is because of disabling hardware (Intel AMT or some such) or turning off some function in win 7? The updates installed fine, no need to force a shutdown, the machine rebooted by itself. The particular update screen was up for a few couple minutes though.

    edit: also have EMET on, but have seen this scroll before I have installed EMET on the machine.
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2013
  19. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,786
    I don't think the large font text appearing at startup with the reg stuff is a problem or anything, I've seen it and others have also. Everything was always normal otherwise. I remember seeing it on another desktop machine, but never on my laptop here. Anyway, I am pretty sure it's nothing to worry about.
     
  20. learningcurve

    learningcurve Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Posts:
    47
    Location:
    usa
    Kerodo,

    Good to know it's not so unusual. Did not think much about it until Itman's query; after all it does indicate to the user what it is doing.

    Regards.
     
  21. Yash Khan

    Yash Khan Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2011
    Posts:
    1,837
    No probs here on 2 Win 7 64 Bits systems. Updated smooth.
     
  22. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    Well today's daily win 7 update dialed out to www.bosqueconservatory.com; IP 64.209.39.25. Why do I get this feeling that MS update servers are borked again:eek:
     
  23. TheWindBringeth

    TheWindBringeth Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2012
    Posts:
    2,088
    Judging from some DNS queries...

    25.39.209.64.in-addr.arpa. 12696 IN PTR [noparse]www.bosqueconservatory.com.[/noparse]

    [noparse]www.bosqueconservatory.com.[/noparse] 14400 IN CNAME bosqueconservatory.com.
    bosqueconservatory.com. 14400 IN A 174.36.200.128

    it seems likely that the update didn't attempt to connect to [noparse]www.bosqueconservatory.com[/noparse]. Did you capture a DNS query or HTTP request that would reveal what hostname was actually being contacted?
     
  24. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,794
    Location:
    Texas
    You receive an Event ID 55 or a 0xc000021a Stop error in Windows 7 after you install

    https://support.microsoft.com/kb/2839011
     
  25. itman

    itman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Posts:
    2,969
    Location:
    U.S.A.
    I guess this was not my imagination after all:

    *****************************************************************
    Title: Microsoft Security Bulletin Re-Releases
    Issued: April 11, 2013
    *****************************************************************

    Summary
    =======
    The following bulletins have undergone a major revision increment.
    Please see the appropriate bulletin for more details.

    * MS13-036 - Important
    * MS13-apr


    Bulletin Information:
    =====================

    * MS13-036 - Important

    - http://technet.microsoft.com/security/bulletin/MS13-036
    - Reason for Revision: V2.0 (April 11, 2013): Added links to
    Microsoft Knowledge Base Article 2823324 and Microsoft Knowledge
    Base Article 2839011 under Known Issues. Removed Download Center
    links for Microsoft security update 2823324.
    Microsoft recommends
    that customers uninstall this update. See the Update FAQ for
    details.
    - Originally posted: April 9, 2013
    - Updated: April 11, 2013
    - Bulletin Severity Rating: Important
    - Version: 2.0

    * MS13-apr

    - http://technet.microsoft.com/security/bulletin/ms12-apr
    - Reason for Revision: V2.0 (April 11, 2013): For MS13-036,
    removed the links to security update 2823324 due to a known
    installation issue. See bulletin for details.
    - Originally posted: April 9, 2013
    - Updated: April 11, 2013
    - Version: 2.0
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.