Anybody using Lazy Mirror on Win7?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by peterk62, Nov 23, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. peterk62

peterk62 Registered Member

I have been looking for a reasonably easy-to-use sync with versioning software to back up Windows PCs to a NAS. I have looked at Genie Timeline, OopsBackup, AutoVer and Yadis Backup and have issues with each of them, although Oops seems to be the best of the bunch.

I have recently run across two more freebies, though: EVACopy and Lazy Mirror. Of those two, Lazy Mirror seems to be really close to what I am looking for in terms of managing the archived versions so I am curious if anyone on this forum has been using it, particularly with Windows 7. I don't want to use this to backup the system since I use Macrium Reflect Free for that - I want this only for periodic backup of user files.

Thanks

2. taotoo

taotoo Registered Member

I have no experience of Lazy Mirror I'm afraid - what is the management of old versions that you want to achieve?

3. MrBrian

MrBrian Registered Member

If you can't find a sync program that works for you, perhaps take a look at Areca Backup, a free file-based backup program that handles versioning well.

4. peterk62

I seem to be looking for Genie Timeline or Oops Backup, but I was also interested in any freeware which might do the job. Genie and Oops both allow only one backup "job" per user, which has different implications for both programs.

For Genie, it means that compression is applied to all files or no files - no way to compress those files which are compressible but ignore jpegs and the like. On the other hand, Genie has file deduplication so it should not store multiple copies of the same file.