Any Official Word from ESET on Web Issues? Missing Graphics and Connection Reset?

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by nodHead, Nov 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nodHead

    nodHead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Posts:
    85
    I have now excluded Firefox from Web Access Protection and I no longer have the issues with missing graphics and "connection reset" errors in Firefox.

    So this is an issue that some have clearly found to be a problem.

    I would just like to know what the official word is from ESET? Is this now a problems that's being investigated / tracked / fixed?

    With Firefox excluded from Web Access Protection am I at greater risk of having my computer attacked by web bourne malware?

    If there is any further information I can provide to assist ESET, I'm happy to do that. ;)
     
  2. aieie

    aieie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Posts:
    175
    I use firefox myself and experienced no such problems.

    It happened, though, with another antivirus brand due to the presence of pieces of another antivirus, you can guess the name ;), which didn't uninstall correctly.

    Could it be your case too?

    Best Regards
     
  3. 800ster

    800ster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Posts:
    203
    I am also seeing the Connection Reset problem in Firefox but only since upgrading from the RC1 to the release version. Happens about 1 web page in 20 and it always reloads OK on the first "try again" click. Using default install options for web access protection.
     
  4. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    All of you are using Windows Vista?
     
  5. aieie

    aieie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Posts:
    175
    I was speaking of a fresh Vista installation with AV 3.0 on it.

    No problems with both IE and Firefox
     
  6. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Just out of curiosity, those who have experienced this problem please confirm that the following procedure didn't make any difference:

    open Start –> Run
    run: cmd
    type: netsh winsock reset
    restart the computer
     
  7. _Rupert_

    _Rupert_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    @Marcos

    I'm running Vista Ultimate (x64).
    The "netsh winsock reset" command failed to solve the problem.. although I thought it had at first, but after a couple of minutes browsing, the red crosses starting to appear again.

    Perhaps just coincidence that images worked okay for the first couple of minutes after rebooting?
     
  8. aieie

    aieie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Posts:
    175
    Any previous antivirus installed on the PC where problems arise?
     
  9. _Rupert_

    _Rupert_ Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Posts:
    61
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Nope, prior to installing v3, the PC was restored to a True Image backup of a point where there wasn't.. and had never been any form of antivirus/firewall/internet security suite etc installed.
     
  10. Paraglider

    Paraglider Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Posts:
    14
    I also am seeing the same problem with Firefox on Vista Ultimate 32 after upgrading from NOD32 2.7 to 3.0 Final. Configuring Active mode for Firefox in advanced settings seems to have improved the problem.
     
  11. nodHead

    nodHead Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Posts:
    85
    I'm running Vista Ultimate (x86) and this failed to fix the problem, but thanks for looking into it! :doubt:
     
  12. Eliot

    Eliot Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Posts:
    854
    Location:
    Arkansas, USA
    Seems to have fixed it for me. Now the only problem is the email tagging for me. o_O
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.