Any ideas please, computer wont shut down

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Doubleyoujay, Sep 7, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Doubleyoujay

    Doubleyoujay Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Posts:
    18
    I am running Windows XP and sometimes when I try to shut down nothing happens. I have tried using Ctrl/Alt/Del but still nothing happens. This doesnt happen all the time but is becoming more of a nuisance. I would appreciate any help or ideas. Thanx
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,749
    Location:
    Texas
  3. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Are you running the latest ZoneAlarm FREE version? If so, try uninstalling it.

    Cheers :D
     
  4. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,749
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm using ZA free with no issues. :D Do you find ZA free to cause problems on some machines Craig?
     
  5. hadi

    hadi Guest

  6. hadi

    hadi Guest

  7. zcv

    zcv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Posts:
    355
    Why wouldn't shutting ZA down before trying to shut down XP test that idea?

    Regards - Charles
     
  8. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    Had one yesterday, every time I installed the latest ZA on the very new laptop it would fail to shut down, in the end had to remove it. The customer is coming back in a few days, so will try an older version of ZA.

    Cheers :D
     
  9. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2002
    Posts:
    15,115
    Location:
    Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
    G'day Charles, I tried that, as well this laptop appeared to have a problem with MSAS, removed that and the issue appeared to go, then it came back after a few reboots, so removed ZA for a 3rd time, and this was after repairing Winsock. It came back to ZA being at least a major part of the issue, removing ZA resolved the problem for now.

    Cheers :D
     
  10. Mr2cents

    Mr2cents Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Posts:
    497
    Before shutting down your computer, shut down your firewall and antivirus. It's probably one of your programs that is the culprit.
     
  11. zcv

    zcv Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Posts:
    355
    Thanks Blackspear, good to know - the first time I'm seeing this kind of problem with ZA. Usually shutting down an app resolves whatever problem it causes. But as in everything, there are exceptions.


    Doubleyoujay, if you don't find a specific fix, you may have to do this the old fashioned way - shutdown apps one by one and shutdown, try the next.

    Regards - Charles
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.