Any experience on FDISR Rescue + VISTA

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by MerleOne, Apr 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    Did anyone already try FDISR Rescue on VISTA (Home Premium). Was everything OK ? Do I have to disable the VISTA System recovery feature ?

    Thanks !
     
  2. Peter2150

    Peter2150 Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2003
    Posts:
    17,047
    I've used regular FDISR under Vista, not tried with Rescue. In theory it should work.

    Pete
     
  3. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    Thanks for the reply.

    I just downloaded it and tested it on an XP machine. I discovered an annoying problem : it was impossible to anchor a folder which has accentuated characters in it : "c:\téléchargement". Could you by chance try it on your vista system ? I am going to report this to HorizonDataSys.

    Thanks !
     
  4. ErikAlbert

    ErikAlbert Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2005
    Posts:
    9,455
    That is very possible that it doesn't accept "é". I never noticed this, because I don't anchor and I use nothing but English folder names.
    Can you use "é" in snapshot names ?
     
  5. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Probably a result of Microsoft file naming protocol-nothing to do with HDS!!
     
  6. MerleOne

    MerleOne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Posts:
    1,272
    Location:
    France
    In FDISR-Rescue, you cannot create snapshots : there is just the current system and a recovery zone, which is however a snapshot in the former (and full) FDISR version, but with no name.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.