antivirus and limited user

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by maxoblivion, Oct 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maxoblivion

maxoblivion Registered Member

Is antivirus software necessary for defense when running Windows with a limited user account?

2. ASpace

ASpace Guest

Yes , of course :thumb:

3. sukarof

sukarof Registered Member

I have been running as a limited user for a couple of months, and I love it, but I dont dare to be without a AV (even though it has nothing to do :) ) LUA protects against most of the threats so I dont see a need for HIPS´n´stuff though.
    I have read somewhere that LUA doesnt protect against (if I memember right) level 3 ring rootkits/malware, whatever that is..

4. C.S.J

C.S.J Massive Poster

definatly!

5. maxoblivion

Pardon my naive question but the positive spin on LUA is that malware can't make system changes, install programs, change the registry etc. How does malware circumvent the limitations on priviliges that an LUA imposes?

6. Cerxes

Cerxes Registered Member

Running under LUA for several years and I still using AV/AS. Why? because LUA doesn´t protect against keyloggers. I also recently added a policy sandbox and a behavioral blocker. Keyloggers and Rootkits are malware types that really concerns me. I´m not so worried for other types of malware.

/C.

7. C.S.J

C.S.J Massive Poster

threats will always get inside the computer, probably every type of threat.

if you have thought about it, its already out there. :rolleyes:

8. maxoblivion

Can malware be downloaded with a LUA and then wait until an administrative account logs on to attack the OS?

9. mercurie

mercurie A Friendly Creature

Always Use AV otherwise you are using your machine with a big risk. Think of AV as insurance. Even if you surf safe on LUA.

To answer your last question, an expert should really answer but I will tell you that I believe it can.

10. Cerxes

Cerxes Registered Member