AntiVir PersonalEdition Premium - Rootkit det. & HTTP scanning

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by kjempen, Mar 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. kjempen

    kjempen Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    Posts:
    379
    I am sorry if this has been covered before:
    I've only briefly used the free version (PersonalEdition Classic) before. But recently I switched from NOD32 to AntiVir PersonalEdition Premium (which was cheap, by the way :) ). I was thinking perhaps it is superior to NOD32 (at least detection-wise)? But then I don't know if AntiVir has HTTP scanning capabilities? (Protecting from malicious scripts on web sites before they even reach your PC.) And what about rootkits? NOD32 has the "Anti-Stealth Technology", but what does AntiVir have?
     
  2. Londonbeat

    Londonbeat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Posts:
    350
    Avira have their own seperate antirootkit app, which isn't part of their antivirus engine. I've seen the antivirus detect quite a few new rootkits (non-active) with heuristics and quite often generic signature. - TR/Rootkit.gen

    Neither Antivir Classic or Premium have an HTTP scanner.

    Londonbeat
     
  3. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    it doesnt have http scanning, omg.. didnt know thatb:thumbd:
     
  4. dawgg

    dawgg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2006
    Posts:
    817
    To protect from malicious scripts, dont use InternetExplorer... use Firefox or Opera... if you have either, you dont really need a http scanner.

    As Londonbeat correctly said, Antivir detects rootkits which havent been executed... once executed, Antivir (like most other antiviruses) will miss it... At the moment, the best solution to remove a malicious rootkit is to use a third-party-program, most of the reputable AVs have yet to fully incorporated this into their AntiVirus programs.
     
  5. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    As I heard the HTTP scanner is in work.
     
  6. Alphalutra1

    Alphalutra1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Posts:
    1,160
    Location:
    127.0.0.0/255.0.0.0
    Why is it a thumb down? Sure it doesn't have an http scanner, but neither do most antiviruses except for KAV, NOD, avast, I think AVK, and possibly bitdefender. Also, almost none have that great of an http scanner that doesn't completely screw over an internet connection and slow it down, except NOD and avast from my experience.

    However, it still provides excellent protection at its current state, and hopefully the rootkit detection will be incorporated into the engine, and then a good HTTP scanner (shouldn't be too hard to make it fast due to the speed of antivir's engine...)

    Cheers,

    Alphalutra1
     
  7. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    come on Chris, you knew it didnt scan HTTP. Great AV, terrible suite.
     
  8. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    If Antivir gets a http scanner and email scanner then I won't want it. I'm thinking of buying it instead of just using the free version. But I want to buy the free version that has no junk added. I mean that is why Avira is so great...it has no junk like just about every other AV has now.
     
  9. MalwareDie

    MalwareDie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    500
    Yeah I agree entirely. If it adds an http scanner it better not cripple your speed like some other http scanners. An emails scanner are uneeded as Antivir will detect email malware when they try to execute.
     
  10. Johnny123

    Johnny123 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2006
    Posts:
    548
    Location:
    Bremen, Germany
    I have the paid version and I just don't install the email scanner to start with. I also don't care for http scanning, so I hope if they introduce this that it can be turned off.

    The extra spyware definitions and better updating are worth it, however, and the price is quite reasonable at 20 Euros. I must also add to Avira's credit that they didn't pass on the 3% increase in VAT that we have in Germany now, they left the price the same :thumb:
     
  11. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    nah i didnt, i dont really pay attention to the avira threads on here, i tried it .. didnt like it and ripped it out as soon as i could,

    but that was just my opinion of it, and im sure many will continue to use it which is fine :)
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    wow 30 days sure does go quick doesnt it jeff?:D
    anyway welcome back.
    i think the only av that has http scanning perfect is avast.
    nod32 can screw up the win socket sometimes.
    if you know of any issues with avast http scanning i would love to hear them since ive heard the http scanning in avast works great
    lodore
     
  13. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    One problem is, you see most experts say to never use a registry cleaner. But if you look at the Avira support forum, it seems for every problem, this is their standard method for saying how to fix things.:cautious:

    lodore, when was the last time someone posted here about a winsock issue with Esets Http scanning. I think it is alot faster then KIS and F Secures. Dont knock it until you try it.
     
  14. MalwareDie

    MalwareDie Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2006
    Posts:
    500

    I clearly remember you making a past remark on this C.S.J. I cannot remember when though could have been before i became a member when i all i did was read the posts.
     
  15. waters

    waters Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    934
    I removed antivir untill icon item was fixed but i am glad i didnt place my opinion on something i tried and ripped it out as soon as i could
     
  16. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    @trjam i was just stating that sometimes eiether nod32 or the av before nod32 corrupted the win socket on someones computer look in the nod32 support forum. i like nod32 alot and think its a great av
    lodore
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.