AntiVir PE Free shuts down after update!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Macaroni, Dec 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Macaroni

Macaroni Registered Member

Some time over the last few days, AntiVir Pe started shutting itself down completley after an update.

It automatically launches to the task bar on computer startup, as normal. I do the update and allow the update program to shut itself, when it does this AV is no longer in the taskbar.

Anyone else know about or experiencing this problem?

2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

It doesn't do that here. It is working just fine.

3. FRug

FRug Registered Member

It's not shutting itself down, it's just the task icon missing. The protection is still present, only the icon isn't there.

4. Rob E

Rob E Registered Member

Just wanted to comment... I'm pretty new to AntiVir PE; I've been using it without issue for about two weeks. RE: the 12/18 update, the software updated and wanted to restart. Usually I would just allow it, but at the time I was busy and thought I'd do it later. Shortly thereafter, I needed to be away from the PC for a few hours and when I returned - I realized that the AntiVir Guard had been shut down !!! (I had never restarted it.) I did have an icon in the system tray, but the umbrella was closed. My thoughts are... On the one-hand the PC wasn't being used so what's the big deal? On the other hand... I can't say I was very happy about the AV Guard being off. Still it's free... and it is great performance and value for the $$$ :)

I haven't yet found the perfect AV software solution... Any thoughts? Anybody o_O

5. FRug

FRug Registered Member