Antivir integration with download manager

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by aigle, Aug 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Anybody has an idea how can I integrate Antivir to scan files downloaded by Star Downloader and LeechGet?

    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Leechget settings.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
  4. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Thanks it works.

    for LeechGet

    C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avscan.exe/GUIMODE=2 /PATH=%file%

    or

    C:\Program Files\AntiVir PersonalEdition Classic\avscan.exe/GUIMODE=1 /PATH=%file%
    ( full window, waits at the end of the Scann for input/ close from user in both cases)

    For Star Downloader as below.

    GUIMODE=2 /PATH=%file% ( full window, waits at the end of the Scann for input/ close from user)
    GUIMODE=2 /PATH=%file% (minimized window, closes itself after scan)

    For Flashget

    GUIMODE=2 /PATH=%file% or
    GUIMODE=2 /PATH=%file% (full window, waits at the end of the Scann for input/ close from user)
     
  5. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Don't understand why people use these at all. It kinda kills the purpose of real-time scanners...
     
  6. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    U mean it is not needed at all?
     
  7. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    it shouldnt be if u have antivir scanning in realtime.
     
  8. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    Depends really.....your realtime scanner could be set to scan extensions only (like mine) whereas your shell extension scanner for downloads(which you might use in your download manager) might be set to scan all files and inside archives (like mine).
    ellison
     
  9. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Ya I have like this too.

    This one I don,t understand really.
     
  10. ellison64

    ellison64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Posts:
    2,499
    I should have made clear ,i was commenting generally and not specifically to antivir (sorry) which doesnt have that option (i believe).Some AVs have the option to choose the scanning parameters for on demand,on access and the shell extension.A shell extension path in that case could be useful in a download manger
    ellison
     
  11. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    thanks.
     
  12. Nevolia-C

    Nevolia-C Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Excuse me for digging up this old post.
    Anyone know how to make Antivir "version 6" work together with Star Downloader?
    MANY Thanks!
     
  13. FRug

    FRug Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2006
    Posts:
    309
    Nevolia-C: don't tell me you are still using version 6? You DO know that its detection capabilties have not been improved for almost a year, it is practically useless against current threats! You are missing all the heuristics improvements and all other changes in the engine (generic detections, polymorphic virus detections) if you use version 6. There's no reason why you shouldn't use version 7. Just have a look at the size of the engine dll, v6 should be around 600-700kb while the v7 engine is ~1,9MB in size. That's more than twice the amount of code, and i bet you can imagine that this size change indicates a big change in detection.

    Trust me, you don't want to use v6 anymore!
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.