AntiVir INETUPD.EXE silent mode?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by RejZoR, Nov 28, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Is there any switch to run this updater program in full silent mode? It's very annoying that you cannot minimize the update dialog. I also have it scheduled via Windows Task Scheduler and i don't want that this dialog interupts my work by popping on screen.
     
  2. pcontour

    pcontour Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Posts:
    29
    Re: AntiVir INETUPD.EXE silent mode? - Question

    Hey I'd like to get it to start without making me press the start button from the task scheduler, and another button to close the program later. It always seems to want me to press buttons. I tried this "inetupd /UDE /EXP".

    I could make it start minimized with this string: start "inetupd window" /min inetupd /ude /exp, but it still wants me to click on start. What are you using in Windows Task Scheduler. Yes I know the thread is old, but maybe you are subscribed, together we can get both problems solved.
     
  3. bugmenot

    bugmenot Guest

    remove /ude from the command

    ude=user dialog enabled
     
  4. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Doesn't work...
     
  5. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Well, removing UDE command will allow it to auto update with out pressing any button. ( Which is better than nothing ) But it will still pop up.

    Is there anyway to make it so that it will always stay minimized?
     
  6. pcontour

    pcontour Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Posts:
    29
    We can all work together and get a great solution. Thanks for the tip Bugmenot and Iwod.

    I used these option in the Antivir Scheduler

    /EXP /min

    It seems to work when I ran it and was already up to date.. A flashing Antiver progarm Icon appears in the taskbar, but I ignored it and my screen did not suffer any popup. The flashing went away and the program finished I'd be interested to see if everything is cool when it is not up to date, and when the update fails.

    It also seemed to stop that annoying Antivir notifier program.
     
    Last edited: Aug 11, 2005
  7. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    You don't have to interact with that dialog if you run it from AntiVir installation folder. If you run it through tray menu you have to.
    And that flashing thing in taskbar will drop you out of any full screen app which is very annoying trust me.
     
  8. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    The switch /min doesn't do anything.....

    And BTW the update server has been extremely fast.
     
  9. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I received an update with KB, but it download a new version of VDF file and AVRep.dll, that could be the reason for this difference of sizes...
     
  10. TopperID

    TopperID Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2004
    Posts:
    1,527
    Location:
    London
    Fully automatic updates are a function of the new Premium edition of AntiVir; there will always be a prompt with the free Classic version.

    Having said that, it is seemingly possible (at the momemt at least!) to avoid the update prompt with the incremental-update beta edition - just include the argument "/AD". I've not tried this but apparently it works.

    With regard to minimizing the AntiVir Scheduler, click 'Insert'/'Start Program' then in Window drop down box insert 'Symbol'. You will also need the 'Argument' /exp.
     
  11. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I deceived myself in the topic... :oops:
     
  12. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    /AD doesn't work with window built in scheduler.
     
  13. Manitoban

    Manitoban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2005
    Posts:
    6
    Windows Task Scheduler, do you mean? You can run INETUPD.EXE minimized if you launch it via a shortcut and set the shortcut's properties to "Run: Minimized," at least in WinXP Home SP2. Perhaps launch that way from Windows Task Scheduler.
     
  14. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    it wouldn't work because Windows Task Scheduler will auto use the exe file linked via the Shortcut.
     
  15. Mirin

    Mirin Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Posts:
    41
    Try "inetupd /NW"
     
  16. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Thanks this works. Could RejZoR's test this to see if this solve your gaming problem?
     
  17. TOJ

    TOJ Guest

    No more update Screen now, right! But that annoying Antivir notifier program still appears after update finished. That last one will now also go away with:

    INETUPD.EXE /NW /AH

    It worked for me (AntiVir 6.31).

    Can anyone test this an reply, plz!
     
  18. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Ok,i'll check it out...
     
  19. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    OK,i can confirm that these switches finally work. I used integrated scheduler for this task. Now i just have to replace that ugly scheduler icon...
     
  20. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Or you could use the Windows Task Scheduler......
     
  21. PHB2k1

    PHB2k1 Guest

    Hi all

    I've read this topic and first thx to all for the posts.
    My solution now is simple: I just added a registry key in the
    Run linking to the INETUPD with the switches:

    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Run
    C:\Programme\AVPersonal\INETUPD.EXE /NW /AH (REG_SZ)

    This works perfect!!

    Greetz to all
     
  22. RejZoR

    RejZoR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,426
    Not exactly. Only if you use permanent cable connection. If you use PPPoE DSL or dial-up you can't use it this way.
     
  23. iwod

    iwod Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2004
    Posts:
    708
    Adding run would only run it every time you start the computer.
    Using Window Task Scheduler you can set it to run every 2 - 4 hours.

    Edit: I use this
    "C:\Program Files\AVPersonal\INETUPD.EXE" /EXP /NW

    didn't use the /AH switch, and it still works fine.
     
  24. TOJ

    TOJ Guest

    That annoying Antivir notify program came back yesterday. (I used INETUPD.EXE /NW /AH). Looks like someone from AntiVir is reading this thread? Or anyway they again have changed switches. I'm giving up.

    Was also thinking to let the update run as service. Maybe I give it a try, or otherwise look for another anti virus solution. They make big noises about their free Personal Edition and then force you every time to buy. I think times for nag screens for free software belongs to the past.

    BTW, thanks for the last replies!
     
  25. rdsu

    rdsu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2003
    Posts:
    4,456
    I try the "C:\Program Files\AntiVir\INETUPD.EXE" /EXP /NW with the NOD32 scheduler and works very well :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2005
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.