Antivir hog

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by maddawgz, Apr 27, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    I'm bit disspointed with Antivir premium it's a hog, my firefox was slow, speed, system in general. had it in laptop and desktop both newish running win 7, I takes it off guess what system is fast again, speed and performance. Put on Antivir free and it's same fast...Premium has something in it that makes system slow, btw this is without webgaurd on too, remember this is on 2 pc's not just one, whats up??.o_O o_O o_O o_O o_O o_O
     
  2. cm1971

    cm1971 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Posts:
    727
    The only issue I have had is that when it updates the computer becomes unusable for a few seconds while it updates.
     
  3. lab

    lab Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    22

    Same here.
     
  4. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,408
    The same happens here which is really not an issue for me.
    Otherwise my pc is just as fast with or without Avira Premium.
     
  5. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    No slow down here.
     
  6. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Hmmm Not sure what is going on then, noticeable performance with it off, and free put on. Anyone want to try with there's off go for it. o_O o_O o_O
     
  7. dazed1

    dazed1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Posts:
    161
    As far as i know (from experience also) Avira is quite light, you might wanna chek out your installation or any possible conflicts, or even try reinstall it after you completely remove it with their uninstall tool...
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2011
  8. King Grub

    King Grub Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2006
    Posts:
    814
    No slowdowns whatsoever here, never has been.
     
  9. sm1

    sm1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2011
    Posts:
    520
    @maddawgz you can try disabling premium features one by one to see which one is slowing the system:) Did you try disabling proactiv or anti driveby?
     
  10. Fly

    Fly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Posts:
    2,069
    That's a good suggestion.

    Have you tried disabling the web guard ?
     
  11. Sherlock_Holmes

    Sherlock_Holmes Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,447
    Location:
    Mumbai
    op has already mentioned webguard is off
     
  12. jaodsvuda

    jaodsvuda Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2011
    Posts:
    146
    Same here,maddawgz !
    WinXpsp3,with Avira AntiVir Premium(on giveaway),Private fw,and Zemana Antilogger.All legit,system defragmented & well maintained.Bogged my dl speed from 1,5Mb/s to half (even one-third).Downloading new Blender took nearly a half an hour!
    Than I gave it up,and used the system snapshot.Instaled Avira Personal + Private fw (no HIPS) + Zemana + Malware Defender + BufferZone...and everything went back to normal (system is still in learning mode).
    Seems like v10 isn´t to friendly to XP ? Is Avira´s "'Pro-active" module to blame for this ?
     
  13. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    London On
    Good Afternoon ! Using Avira Internet Security Suite V10 on Windows 7 Premium 32 bit and Prevx 3.0 & Safe On-Line so far quick and nimble. Sincerely...Securon
     
  14. jasonbourne

    jasonbourne Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Posts:
    247
    I have:
    - Avira Premium(no Proactive) in Win7 x32 / XP SP3 pc, FF4 no slowdown
    - APSS(no Proactive) in Win7 x64/Win7x32 pc and there is no slowdown in FF4.
    - APSS(with Proactive) in XP SP3 pc. FF4 no slowdown.

    I seem to observe it's like Avast IS/AvastFree quite zippy. Firewalls I use are CIS / Outpost Pro / Online Armor / Privatefirewall.
     
  15. lastsamuraial

    lastsamuraial Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2011
    Posts:
    9
    Location:
    Tirana
    +1
    That's why i uninstalled it.
     
  16. ESS474

    ESS474 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Posts:
    201
    Location:
    S?o Paulo (Brazil)
    Avira 10 is much unstable, i use version 9.
     
  17. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth

    Hi guys no webgaurd at all, i am using free right now seems way better, weird i don't get it. Anyone find free ok though or different? no issues with free. I could use 9 Premium since i have key but where do you download 9? I spent weeks re=enstalling firefox, asking ISP whats up?. Just by pure chance i uninstalled Antivir, noticed Major improvement. Since the free is fine, must be a pro-active module or something that it uses resources, and bandwidth or something. If anyone wants to test my theory out try n see. Perhaps we can come up with solution?, only other thing it may have been is mailgaurd you think??

    Update...Tried V9 bit better but still rather free.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2011
  18. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    i stay far away from avira antivir products coz its make the download from the net very slow, i try many thing to remove webgard but its still slow downloading, so i go to another antivirus more light on computer.
     
  19. maddawgz

    maddawgz Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2004
    Posts:
    1,276
    Location:
    Earth
    Free is ok not sure why...:doubt:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.