Antivir free settings...

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bimbobo, Jan 22, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Hi,
    I found once a link to a place where someone posted "his suggested" configuration for Antivir free.


    I have this configration now, but it's so "conservative" that it take 50 minutes for a system scan and many false positives are found.

    Can someone please help finding a "better" configuration. Maybe the one I have now it's the best, where all files are scanned, all archives and heuristic is at high , but if you know of other way to keep a secure setup but not so "restrictive" I will appreciate your help.

    Regards
     
  2. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    Heuristics should always be set to medium, otherwise it'll only produce way too many FP's as you are currently experiencing.

    Scanning of archives is unnecessary if you ask me, it's only a waste of time.
    When you extract files from an archive the Guard will scan each and every file, so if a worm/virus/trojan etc. is extracted, it'll be found.

    That's what I think. You may agree to disagree.
     
  3. mfenech

    mfenech Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    46
  4. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Thanks to both of you...

    I thought that "medium" in heuristic could be OK too.. and same about archives.
    If I remember well the configuration used, was found somewhere in "wilders" forum..

    What do you think about settings "write only"? as suggested in the link from mfenech?

    More opinions are welcome
    Regards
     
  5. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    The problem is that "write only" only blocks the process that wrote the file, while other processes are able to read and execute it. For example the batch file:
    7z e eicar.zip
    EICAR
    PAUSE
    EICAR.png
     
  6. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    I keep my heuristics cranked up all the way. Haven't had any problems.
     
  7. aigle

    aigle Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2005
    Posts:
    11,047
    Location:
    Saudi Arabia/ Pakistan
    Why not to just keep default settings?
     
  8. Threedog

    Threedog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2005
    Posts:
    1,125
    Location:
    Nova Scotia, Canada
    Paranoia!!!! :D
     
  9. EliteKiller

    EliteKiller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Posts:
    1,138
    Location:
    TX
  10. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    keep at top and use common sense for FP's.
     
  11. bimbobo

    bimbobo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2004
    Posts:
    56
    Threedog " I keep my heuristics cranked up all the way. Haven't had any problems. "

    So I did too, but I have some FPs that popus sometimes.. plus with "high" security config it takes a lifetime to scan a normal 80GB hard drive with only 1/3 space used.

    My disk is defragmented every day, Spyware free...and all temp files cleaned before scanning... 50 minutes is too much especially because of all the scanned archives..

    Anyway, it seems to be "secure" it must be like this.

    Thanks to all

    Regards
     
  12. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    If the guard is enabled and set to scan on reads and writes with high heuristics I don't see the need to scan the PC.
     
  13. Stijnson

    Stijnson Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Posts:
    533
    Location:
    Paranoia Heaven
    I am considering trialing Avira (Classic version first). I have NOD32 as my real-time scanner, so should I disable the Guard module in the setup when I try out Avira?
     
  14. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Version 8 is going to be faster in scanning. Due mid April.

    It takes over an hour for Avira to do a full scan of my computer but I don't think it is necessary to do full scans except when I first get a new AV and then if I suspected something was wrong and I thought I might have a virus...but that is so unlikely with Avira if you are not prone to going to porn, crack, etc. sites and even then Avira will probably protect you.

    I have heuristics at medium but I do have scan all files checked for both Guard and LukeFilewalker. I wouldn't run any AV without having scan all files checked but that is just me and not necessarily essential.

    Stijnson, you really should remove NOD32 before trying Avira. You are asking for trouble and then when you have it you will likely blame it on Avira when the source is your having 2 AVs on the system at the same time. Avira doesn't like having even remnants of other AV around. If you absolutely must have them both on there at the same time disable the real time scanner on one of them but know that may not be enough to avoid a nasty problem.
     
  15. xandros

    xandros Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2006
    Posts:
    411
    before i use kaspersky internet security, then i uninstall it coz the new ver of kis make my system slow

    afterthat i use dr.web , its very light and good but its not free & i dont have money to pay for dr.web , so i uninstall it too

    then i use avira antivir premium , its great , i read many things good about it in many sites , and its detect more than 99% virus .... ,
    my pc with avira antivir premium light and there is no problems also the browsing very fast.

    i use online armor firewall free with it , and the another pc i use antivir premium with comodo firewall pro


    antivir premium is great
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.