Antivir free privacy problem?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Lundholm, Nov 1, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lundholm

    Lundholm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Old Zealand
    I just installed the free Antivir and ran the update as the last part of the installation.

    I noticed that more than 1MB was uploaded during the update! This is a very unpleasant surprise. Does anybody know what's going on?

    Cheers
     
  2. solcroft

    solcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Posts:
    1,639
    As far as I can recall, AntiVir has always had problems with updates, both in terms of the update file size and connection quality. Your situation should be normal.
     
  3. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    I have recently reinstalled AntiVirFree and noticed that the updates are smaller and quicker than previously, so it would just be a guess to say that it may be uploading defs for comparison, and then downloading the needed updates. This just a guess though, and I will be watching tonights update to see whats going on (in less than hour) and check back then. I hope there isn't going to be another prob with Avira.... o_O
     
  4. farmerlee

    farmerlee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,585
    Some of the updates from avira are pretty big. Did you check to see how much data was downloaded?
     
  5. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    Less than 2 weeks of use, I've not seen an update bigger than 2MB. Back in Aug/Sept. it was always bigger than 10MB...
     
  6. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    All went well with tiny upD of less than 200k, perhaps it has something to do with the rootkit module that I don't have installed.
     
  7. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
    The first update after a fresh install is always larger than usual, apparently some program parts get updated along with the defs. After that, things should be reasonable, until there is a program update of some kind, then you'll see a larger update again.
     
  8. innerpeace

    innerpeace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,095
    Location:
    Mountaineer Country
    Hi, you should also be able to check the 'Report' log for details of the update. Start Avira and click the 'Reports' tab and then click the update you want to view. A box will then pop-up and you can click 'Report File' which should open more details in a .txt file in notepad. It will at least tell you what took place.

    edit: spelling
     
  9. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    I'm sure we're not helping Lundholm much though. He was worried about the upLo not the dLo...
     
  10. Lundholm

    Lundholm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Old Zealand
    Exactly.
    I didn't make myself clear! Sorry guys.

    I'm not worried about the update (maybe 2M), but the upload!

    Why would Avira steal 1M of my data, and what is it?
     
  11. Mele20

    Mele20 Former Poster

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2002
    Posts:
    2,495
    Location:
    Hilo, Hawaii
    Why don't you post at avira forum and ask them? Maybe Leo will be by...but if I were you I would already have posted at avira and asked...it seems odd but there has got be a logical explanation.
     
  12. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    well i'm not sure about it, but it could be the serial number which is checked with every update. this is needed for the premium versions to check if it is still valid. in th classic version it does not make many sense, but as the classic is based on the premium version the updater acts the same.
    but if this explains a 1 mb upload? you're sure it's that much
     
  13. Lundholm

    Lundholm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Old Zealand
    It is a lot, isn't it?

    Actually, I got an answer in the Antivir forum saying that this is quite normal:

    http://forum.avira.com/thread.php?threadid=29422&sid=88c8c0eca64480d2729b5140abe447bd
     
  14. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    It is odd (1.3MB), but at least they have "fixed" the updater speed and size.
     
  15. SteveBlanchard

    SteveBlanchard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    312
    Location:
    ENGLAND
    Happens with Trend PC Cillian 07, some very short updates, occasionally a big one and sonmetimes you have to reboot following an up date.
     
  16. Kerodo

    Kerodo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Posts:
    7,779
  17. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    id like to know too,

    nothing should ever be uploaded during a virus def download.
     
  18. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
  19. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
    After initial install, uploads are much smaller...
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Lundholm

    Lundholm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Old Zealand
    Exactly how I feel!

    I have explained some more details in the Antivir forum, so I suggest that you guys have a look there.

    Cheers
     
  21. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    to be honest i aint really that bothered, not to go chasing for an answer anyway.

    but im surprised the avira users have not found out 'exactly' what it is doing.
     
  22. 19monty64

    19monty64 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Posts:
    1,302
    Location:
    Nunya, BZ
  23. Lundholm

    Lundholm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Old Zealand
    I suppose they closed down the forum in order to avoid my unpleasant questions. :D
     
  24. zfactor

    zfactor Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Posts:
    6,012
    Location:
    on my zx10-r
    shows up fine for me??
     
  25. Leo2005

    Leo2005 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2007
    Posts:
    179
    Location:
    Braunschweig (Germany)
    we have some user that are having problems to acces the forum. we don't know why. you can acces via the ip adress:
    http://62.146.66.186/index.php
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.