Anti-theft won't Finish Configuration

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by tjg79, Jan 16, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tjg79

    tjg79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Anti-theft won't Finish Configuration - RESOLVED

    I upgraded to ESET SS 6 from version 5. I created an ESET account online and I saw my device name. When I click on the ESET icon, I get a status that Anti-Theft is enabled, but I need to finish Anti-Theft configuration. When I click on the blue link to finish configuration, I get a webpage that wants to set up a new account. I then click on the ESET at the top of the page to get out of the new account page and I see that I'm signed in, but when I click on my user name to see my devices, I don't get any response. Also, when I go to the Anti-Theft page, it shows that I need to download ESET SS to install Anti-Theft. I attempt to download the program, but I get an indication that I already have the latest version of the program installed. I go back to the Anti-Theft page and I cannot get the webpage to go to steps 2 or 3.

    Is there a solution to this dilemma?

    How do I get the ESET SS 6 program to clear the "finish configuration" issue?

    I did receive an email confirmation that my ESET Anti-Theft account has been activated.

    When I go to ESET SS 6 Setup I see Anti-Theft is "Enabled" with a "red" status indicator. The drop down menu indicates two options; 1. Finish Configuration and 2. Disable Permanentely. When I click on "Finish Configuration," I get the ESET Anti-Theft Creat new ESET account webpage. It appear to be a permanent, never-ending cycle with no resolution of the "Finish Configuration" issue.

    Regards
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013
  2. COSMO26

    COSMO26 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2003
    Posts:
    404
    +1 Green OK, Chk mark, Email "Acct Activated" Confirmation, etc., BUT Red Dot in Setup/ Anti-Theft as above. Test Anti-Theft still running at 6 minutes and I logged-off site.

    EDIT: Followed instructions below - Clking Permanntly Disable left a Setup choice that was followed and ESS setup a 2nd Acct that actually ran a successful Test. I Deleted the first Acct that had issues.
     
    Last edited: Jan 17, 2013
  3. tjg79

    tjg79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Re: Anti-theft won't Finish Configuration - RESOLVED

    I was able to resolve my issue by selecting the "permanently disable" option and then enabling the feature subsequent to disable.

    This issue is resolved for me.

    Where is ESET Tech Support?

    ESET needs to work on their customer support.

    Regards
     
  4. terradon

    terradon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    78
    Re: Anti-theft won't Finish Configuration - RESOLVED

    Did you put in a support request or are you thinking that ESET support should respond to these forums more quickly?
     
  5. tjg79

    tjg79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Re: Anti-theft won't Finish Configuration - RESOLVED

    I put in a support request and posted on this forum which is the ESET support forum.

    I haven't heard anything from my request.

    ESET customer service leaves a lot to be desired.

    Regards
     
  6. metaller

    metaller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Slovakia
    It seems, that you've created another account for your device.
    Follow this link to see how to add device into antitheft.
    https://my.eset.com/help/en-US/index.html?sign_in.htm

    Remember to provide your eset account credentials in "Sign in with your ESET Account" area and click "Sign in".
    Do not click on "Create new account" if you have already set up your eset account.

    regards
    peter
     
  7. tjg79

    tjg79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    Peter,

    I went to the sign-in webpage and the sign-in failed. It indicated that I used the wrong email/password combination. I know that I used the correct combination, but it failed anyway. I clicked on "forgot my password" and the webpage indicated that an email has been sent, but it hasn't arrived yet. How long does it take for an email to get sent?

    I had submitted a support request, but hadn't received a response yet. Your post indicates someone looked into the matter. I suspect someone changed my password.

    Do you know if anyone has altered my sign-in password?

    Regards
     
  8. metaller

    metaller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Mail should be delivered within few minutes.
    Maybe unnecessary question, but have you looked up in your spam folder?

    peter
     
  9. tjg79

    tjg79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    The email hasn't arrived yet. And, yes, I checked my Google spam folder.

    I was able to resolve my issue by running disk clean-up, deleting the explorer temp folder, deleting all the prefetch files, running CCleaner and rebooting.

    When I attemped to sign-in with the same email/password combination that was rejected earlier, I was successful.

    It's very strange that the email/password combination was rejected and then accepted. I was using the browser autocomplete for the sign-in, so I know I was using the correct email/password combination.

    Thanks for your response Peter.

    Regards
     
  10. metaller

    metaller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Slovakia
    I don't think, that someone changed your pass.
    Entering password is case sensitive, so you need to be sure, you have entered the right one (if you've used some upper chars) ;)

    EDIT: I see you've succeded.. so case closed ;)
     
  11. tjg79

    tjg79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Posts:
    55
    Location:
    Virginia, USA
    I didn't have to type the email/password combination, because the information was saved by my IE9 browser. So, it wasn't a matter of typing the wrong password or using uppercase vs. lowercase characters.

    It's a mute point now, the that issue has been resolved.

    Thanks again for your quick response Peter.

    Regards
     
  12. dwtna

    dwtna Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Posts:
    3
    I tried to permanently disable anti-theft from my desktop installation but I get an invalid email or password error message during the disable process. However, when I enter the exact same email password combination into my.eset.com I am able to see the appropriate web page complete with my laptop installation. It may be possible that during the desktop install I created a second my.eset.com account but I have no clue of what the userid and password may be.

    Any suggestions would be appreciated.
     
  13. metaller

    metaller Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2013
    Posts:
    13
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Try to set up your credentials exactly as you have registered it (if any uppercase characters in email address).
    Let me know, if it work.

    peter

    EDIT:
    Try to search in mails for adding device mails. There should be link for registering new account if association was made via desktop GUI and Create new account was clicked.
    If so, and you haven't finish this new account registering, device is still waiting for registration to be done.
    If no, send me a pm, I'll help you to finish disassociation.
     
    Last edited: Feb 7, 2013
  14. Ed_Spurrell

    Ed_Spurrell Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Posts:
    40
    Re: Anti-theft won't Finish Configuration - RESOLVED

    I was also able to resolve the issue by searching here and disabling/enable. But the question is;
    Why put us through all this? Why?
    I had the same issues as others with wrong username/password and then when i exit the browser it was enabled, then finished config was also a nighmare.
    I did not need or had the time for this crap today while renewing Eset. \
    Not a happy customer today :(
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.