anti-spyware for vista

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Incognito, Nov 12, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Incognito

    Incognito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Is there any other anti-spyware that works in vista? I just got spyware on my comp. Defender says i'm clean :rolleyes:
     
  2. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Firstly, what leads you to say "I just got spyware on my computer"?
    Depending on what it is, you might need "specialist care".

    Secondly, AVG antispyware (And AV) have recently entered into a deal with MS, to have their product supplied with Vista (Or something along those lines.) See the Grisoft home page under "news". So AVG antispy will work with vista, in fact, I believe it was one of the first aftermarket security applications to do so. If you download it, you get a 30day trial then it reverts to an on demand scanner. (Not sure if that status changes if you install it as part of Vista, though.)
    Windows Defender doesn't have a great detection/cleaning reputation.
     
  3. Incognito

    Incognito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    tried avg, doesn't work on vista. Neither does counterspy or webroot.
     
  4. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    What version?
    And what spyware do you have?
     
  5. Incognito

    Incognito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    the latest one from the website. The funny part is if you search anti spyware vista, every link says vista + defender spells the end of spyware.
     
  6. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
  7. Incognito

    Incognito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    Thanks, installing it now. I just installed Spyware doctor from PC Tools.

    400 infections so far oO.
     
  8. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    So, how on earth does Microsoft's "bulletproof" " Security focussed" flagship get 400 infections? (Bit tongue in cheek, there.)
    You must have been to some weird places! (Ditto)
    Or seriously testing it out!
    Just be a bit careful of potential false positives, here, brand new OS, relatively untried, please don't take this the wrong way, if you know what you're doing and know the OS well, great, but if not, could be getting into test pilot country.
    Not saying it's not infected, just be careful what you delete. Quarantine first.
     
  9. Incognito

    Incognito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    maybe spyware was downloading more spyware and installing spyware.


    well if i was a spyware maker thats why'd i'd do.
     
  10. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Yep, that's what it does, all right.
    No offence intended at all by my last, I was being a bit tongue in cheek. MS has indicated it prides itself on the security of it's new OS.
     
  11. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    Windows Defender is junk on a good day.:thumbd:
     
  12. Incognito

    Incognito Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Posts:
    32
    talk about a false sense of security
     
  13. btman

    btman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2006
    Posts:
    576
    WOW, I really need to buy that program again...
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.