Anti-Malware applications with native x64 support

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Gobbler, Nov 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Gobbler

    Gobbler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Posts:
    270
    Can someone provide me a list of security applications which have native x64 support?
     
  2. Magnus Mischel

    Magnus Mischel Security Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Posts:
    185
    By native x64 support do you mean the application binar is a 64-bit executable or that the application runs on and can perform scans of 64-bit systems?
     
  3. Cudni

    Cudni Global Moderator

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Posts:
    6,956
    Location:
    Somethingshire
    While we wait for clarification (although I doubt there are that many pure 64bit as there is no need) and in no particular order few apps I know of: Comodo, Norton, KIS, Eset
     
  4. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,532
    Location:
    Mumbai
  5. 1000db

    1000db Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2009
    Posts:
    718
    Location:
    Missouri
    Microsoft Security Essentials.
     
  6. ReverseGear

    ReverseGear Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Posts:
    1,532
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Online armor ++
     
  7. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    Microsoft is the only one I know which is fully (if you mean that with native: all processes/handlers etc. in 64-bit, purely) 64-bit.

    All the others are "partly" (emulation, Windows on Windows 64, SysWOW) 64-bit. They run a mixture of process.exe and process.exe*32. You can divide those in two groups:
    1. installs in Program Files:

    - ESET, avast!, BitDefender, and some more.

    2. installs in Program Files (x86):

    - Norton, Kaspersky, McAfee, AVG, Avira, Panda, and all the others.
     
  8. Gobbler

    Gobbler Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Posts:
    270
    Yes, I mean those applications which are 64 bit executables.
     
  9. PrevxHelp

    PrevxHelp Former Prevx Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Posts:
    8,242
    Location:
    USA/UK
    Prevx 3 runs completely natively under 64bit (all processes, drivers, etc. are fully 64bit) but there is indeed not much value to be added by doing so on a technical level. Antivirus products which have a 32bit usermode component and a 64bit driver will function fine and provide accurate protection.
     
  10. Matthijs5nl

    Matthijs5nl Guest

    True, also I have the feeling if you code a process in 64-bit, while it ain't necessary, it might increase RAM usage for example. Since MSE 64-bit is using a whopping 80MB of RAM (MsMpEng.exe) while on a 32-bit system it is consuming way less RAM.
     
  11. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Comodo, Microsoft Security Essentials, Windows Defender, Prevx, and Immunet are all native 64-bit programs.
    They install in the Program Files directory, and their processes do not have *32.

    Avast installs into Program Files, but its processes have *32 emulation for some reason. Also its startup registry key is within Wow6432Node if I remeber correctly.

    Many security programs are hybrid 64-bit, meaning they have 64-bit drivers, but 32-bit executables. That works fine in most cases.
     
  12. shadek

    shadek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Posts:
    2,529
    Location:
    Sweden
    The only true 64-bit Anti-Malware I know of are Prevx and MSE.
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    what about mbam pro?
     
  14. Boyfriend

    Boyfriend Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Posts:
    1,070
    Location:
    Pakistan
    @jmoge: MBAM is currently x86 application, compatible with x64. It is not a true/native x64 application.
     
  15. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    ah i see it is likethe coffee half and half;)
     
  16. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    It uses 64-bit drivers.
     
  17. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks J L
     
  18. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Spy Emergency is also native 64-bit.
     
  19. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,890
    Location:
    Canada
  20. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,248
    Location:
    USA,IA
    spyware terminator now has 64bit realtime protection. Also has a really strong HIPs component .
     
  21. J_L

    J_L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Posts:
    8,726
    Forgot to mention SUPERAntiSpyware, Hitman Pro, and SandBoxie.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.