another Windows Firewall Control?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by moontan, Feb 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    I like it. It's very small and adds almost zero overhead to your system, but gives you quick access to 4 main settings:
    (1) allow all,
    (2) allow all except previously specified programs,
    (3) block all except previously specified programs, and
    (4) block all.

    IMO, it's one of those programs that Microsoft should have included as a built-in optional component of the windows 7 firewall. Sure it could be better in some respects, but windows 7 firewall without it is definitely worse.
     
  2. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,098
    Location:
    USA
    Alexandru: Can new programs be allowed internet access when a user is not running as an administrator? I do most of my surfing as a Standard (limited) user.
     
  3. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,058
    Location:
    Romania

    Sorry, but firewall api does not allow changes to Windows Firewall from a limited account, that's why when you try to add a rule you must use administrative privileges. Anyway, you can use a standard account to browse the internet and use wfc.exe with elevated privileges. No harm will be done to your computer if wfc.exe has administrative privileges. It is not a Windows service, that malicious software can use to harm your computer.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
  4. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    I've tried it and it's nice, i like it. But i don't know if it's due to my vm (w7 64 bits) but memory usage is really high : 48Mo...
    Another problem : it don't start with windows, but it's enabled in the options. No entries in msconfig.
    Will it be possible to have a pop-up alert for outbound connections blocked with the process name ? Or better, a system like windows7firewall control ?
    Thanks.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
  5. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,058
    Location:
    Romania
    On my system (W7 x86) the memory usage in idle mode is 4MB and after creating several rules, it takes around 7-8MB. 48MB is really high indeed, we'll test it more on more computers.

    Start with Windows uses the integrated Task Scheduler to launch, that is why the program does not appear in msconfig. Please check if your task scheduler service is not disabled.

    The pop up for outbound is still in beta phase, but in a week or two, the new version will be released, with this functionality. ;)
     
  6. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    Great news :)
    The problem about memory usage is on my vm. In an other forum a member tried it too and it take about 2 Mo.

    EDIT : i did a clean install, same problem. About planified task no entry too.
    Will it be possible to edit the rules create by wfc ? I wanted to modify protocols and remote ports.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2011
  7. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,058
    Location:
    Romania
    I will try to implement a new menu, like Allow Program..., with more options, like ports, protocol, etc, but right now my first target is to finish the outbound block notifications, and after that, because many users asked for port options, etc, I will add these options too. :)
     
  8. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    This will be great! I wish you well on this project
     
  9. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    I really like this project : light, easy to use.
    About outbound connection is it possible to detect the modifications of the .exe authorized (after an update for example, like look'n stop) ?
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2011
  10. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,058
    Location:
    Romania
    Windows Firewall rules are dependent for the path of an executable file, only if an updated version uses another folder on installation, the new location will not be allowed or blocked. If an updated version of a program uses the same folder for the executable file, all of your old rules must be all good.

    We tried our program with different versions of the same software to check this usage scenario.

    First we used Winamp 5.33 and created a rule to listen some online radios. We updated to the latest version 5.61 and the old rule still allowed us to listen to those online radios.

    In the second test, we installed Yahoo Messenger 8, we created a rule for it, and we chatted with our team. We updated to the version 9, then 10, and then to the latest 11 beta, and the first rule allowed us to login successfully into our accounts.
     
  11. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    Ok, i'm waiting for the next release :)
     
  12. blasev

    blasev Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2010
    Posts:
    763
    Also waiting for ourbound notification :D

    this is a great little program, I hope it will continously developed
     
  13. mantra

    mantra Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Posts:
    5,834
    Re: Windows Firewall Control (for windows 7)

    hi

    i wrote you an email about to add
    maybe you can put in the free version :cool:


    a cool feature could be create rules using the task manager , i mean programs in memory
    a pop up menu with all the program in memory , right click and
    ->block the program
    ->allow the program
    ->make a rule

    could be cool

    when i shutdown windows firewall control , its setting are still working even after a rebot
    i guess this glitch sould be fixed :thumb:

    cheers
     
  14. pandlouk

    pandlouk Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Posts:
    2,976
    @alexandrud
    Congrats for your great little app. I loved it from your very first release. (I guess it's time to donate :) .)
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=274073

    some requests.
    - Please include previous versions at the downloads (as long as you did not find a bug in them).
    - Instead of a popup for outbound could you make an interface similar to TCPblock (a light tcp outbound firewall for OSX).
    http://www.macupdate.com/app/mac/35914/tcpblock
    In TCPblock the "connecting apps" tab displays the programs that where blocked and the user can select which of them to include in the whitelist. It is very easy to handle without all those annoing popups of the windows firewall apps. I saw it on a friends macmini and found it the easiest default block (with whitelist allow) policy firewall.

    good luck with your projects.
    regards.
    Panagiotis
     
  15. johncage

    johncage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    @alexandrud

    Thanks for your nice little tool.

    but I have some gui problem, I cannot delete the allowed program and close the gui.

    000.png

    would you please fix it? thanks.
     
  16. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,058
    Location:
    Romania
    We'll think about this for a next release.

    This can be done, but right now it is not a priority.

    What would be the point of this software if an user can terminate the program from task manager, and the settings disappear ? Especially the Lock function. If a user don't need the program, it can be uninstalled from Control Panel, and all settings will be erased.

    I think we can add a new section to the website to provide the old versions.

    This can be done, but right now it is not a priority. We'll think about it.

    It seems to be a problem with some NET Framework installations, that is why on some computer the interface looks awful. Please try to repair or reinstall NET Framework 2.0. Anyway, to delete a listed rule you can double click on a rule and it will be deleted. On all open Forms of the application, you can use Esc which does cancel or exit, and Return (Enter) to choose Yes or OK.
     
  17. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    About the rules created via wfc, will it be possible to change the group ?

    Thanks.
     
  18. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,058
    Location:
    Romania
    What do you mean about the group ? By default, rules that are created with Windows Firewall Control are applied for all the profiles, Home, Work, Public.
     
  19. johncage

    johncage Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Posts:
    70
    But my pc do have NET Framework 4 installed. Do I need to install NET Framework 2.0 ? or The .NET Framework 4 has compatible issue with applications that were built with the .NET Framework 2.0 ?

    Thanks.
     
  20. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    I'm speaking about the second column : "group" (i'm french, in my case it's "groupe"), like core-network for example.
     
  21. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    I think he is referring to the Advanced Security Group that you use, Windows Firewall Control group. New rules being set as pre-defined and placed in the Windows Firewall Control group.
     
  22. EboO

    EboO Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Posts:
    287
    That's that :)
    Sorry for my poor explication.
     
  23. Sm3K3R

    Sm3K3R Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2008
    Posts:
    604
    Location:
    Wallachia
    Felicitari pentru jucarie ! :)

    Nice tool.
    Those 4 presets Outpost like might make me try this software.

    How is the loging ?
    I like seeing what happened so i can troubleshoot.Is it some enhancement over the Windows W7 loging feature ,which seemes incomplete as it is.
    I always had some connectivity problems with W7 firewall enabled and manually set up as not always you get pop-ups and not always you get the loging to correct your rules.
     
  24. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,058
    Location:
    Romania
    Windows 7 have already installed NET Framework 2.0 by default. We'll do more tests next days to find the scenario which generates this problem.

    This is just a convention, just a simple string, and I choosed Windows Firewall Control to make a difference from the other rules. It does not affect in any way the rules are processed.

    The next version will include a Learning Mode with pop-ups on every blocked program that has no rule defined. Now it is a beta version, and I'll try to finish it in a week or two.
     
  25. Juha L

    Juha L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    48
    I´m currently using the "competing" Windows7FirewallControl free, which lacks system/core application firewall protection (only available in paid).
    My question is, can I achieve system/core application firewall protection if I change to the free version of your Windows Firewall Control software?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.