another Windows Firewall Control?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by moontan, Feb 15, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    Updated and all went fairly well. For some reason, I can not updated from the downloads folder. I always have to delete the wfc.exe from system32, copy the downloaded wfc.exe to system32 and launch it from there. I do have one question. How does one go about clearing the About Dialog screen? The escape key works but I thought it used to have the close X in the title bar.

    Also, are you ever going to allow WFC GUI to use native styled menus?

    Untitled.jpg
     
  2. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,056
    Location:
    Romania
    To close the About form, just click on the text in the middle and it will close itself, or press escape key. You can also use ESC key to close any form of WFC, including notifications, where pressing ESC key means "Ask Me Later".
     
  3. Macolm

    Macolm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    How can I allow a program that has no interface, like Avira Free Antivirus' update.exe. Now I can't get the updater working.
     
  4. Broadway

    Broadway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    The same way as always. GUI or not, it always works like this: Wait until the notification pops up, than allow the updater to pass. After that restart the update-process.
     
  5. Macolm

    Macolm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    No notification if no learning mode.
     
  6. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,056
    Location:
    Romania
    Indeed, good pointed Macolm. I have already modified WFC, to include the both ways of adding a program. In a few days I will publish the new version which also adds new improvements.

    Thank you for your support and your patience.
     
  7. Macolm

    Macolm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    Thank you.
     
  8. Greg S

    Greg S Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,039
    Location:
    A l a b a m a
    I hate to be dense but what am I missing that you think should be fixed? If Macolm doesn't have it in Learning Mode to apply the rule then what else can you do to improve that?
     
  9. Broadway

    Broadway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Alex, I was able to reproduce this issue:

    On my system (w7 x64) this occurs when you klick Medium Filtering -> Allow Program
    then first there is a popup "Click desired program window..." that is immediately followed by a popup "Successfully created a rule to allow all connections for:
    (translated from German) The process modules could not be listed"
    (Or maybe "Unable to enumerate process modules")

    There is no chance to react in a second between those two pop-ups.
    HTH :)
     
  10. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,056
    Location:
    Romania
    My answer was to above reply. This is what I think you missed. :)
    Well, I think that this feature is not working for the reason that "Learning Mode" is not working for other language localisations. The message "Unable to enumerate process modules", is in another language on Windows versions that are not in english. This is 99% the problem. I will test it and fix this in the next version.

    Thank you Broadway, for your phrase: "(translated from German)".
     
  11. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    You need to add
    C:\program files\avast software\avast\setup\avast.setup
    to the Allowed List in WFC.

    It's a file that's temporarily created when Avast updates, so you need to click avast update and then super quickly add the rule to WFC while the file is still visible. Since it's not an exe, I'm not sure that WFC notifies about it, or maybe the older versions didn't - I just remember it was tough rule to add.
     
  12. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    alexandrud, i'm having a small update hiccup:

    when i update WFC it often (not always) goes from ACTIVATED to NOT ACTIVATED.

    your website interface for fetching a new activation code is easy and hassle-free, so i can always re-activate without problems, but still...
     
  13. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,056
    Location:
    Romania
    I had to change the activation system because the piracy, but from the next version I will leave the activation system unchanged, and I will concentrate more on adding new features than changing the activation system. It seems that changing the activation system is useless anyway for a good cracker. I apologize for the inconveniences created.
     
  14. Juha L

    Juha L Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2007
    Posts:
    48
    That´s good. I don´t think you lose much money anyway, cause only a fool would use cracked/modified security software, and those idiots wouldn´t pay anyway..
     
  15. jtcst

    jtcst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    Hello,

    I can't seem to get any internet access with medium filtering enabled. I allowed outbound rules with internet apps but nothing can connect. Is there a tutorial somewhere that shows how to use this program?
     
  16. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,056
    Location:
    Romania
    You must create a rule for "svchost.exe" otherwise you can't browse the internet. This applies to all Windows Vista versions and Windows 7 x64. On Windows 7 x86 there is no need to create a rule for "svchost.exe" to browse the internet. On "Low Filtering" can you use your internet browser ?
     
  17. JoeBlack40

    JoeBlack40 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Posts:
    1,579
    Location:
    Romania
    But the free version still no learning mode or pop-ups (when a program wants a connection),right?
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  18. Macolm

    Macolm Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    22
    It's not a free/paid function comparison or feature request. Just hope the manual selection function in previous version back. And I don't need pop-ups.
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  19. jtcst

    jtcst Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Posts:
    30
    I'm using Windows 7 x86. With medium filtering, the only thing that seems to be able to connect is Gmail Notifier. With low filtering, my browser and everything else works fine.
     
  20. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,056
    Location:
    Romania
    New beta 3.0.1.0 available:

    - New: Menu item "Manage Rules" from which the user can administrate more easily the firewall rules. This new menu replaces the menu items previously named "Show Rules...".
    - Improved: All rules are listed in the same list, and the user has the posibility to filter them by different criteria. A rule that allows a program is coloured green, and a rule that blocks a program is coloured red.
    - Improved: Local ports, remote ports and protocol, are displayed for all rules without requiring to select a rule.
    - Fixed: The program includes now the both methods for creating a new rule.

    Installation notes:
    A clean install is required because from this version the rules are stored in a different way which was needed for the new improvements. Sorry for this, but it is absolutely necessary. The final version will be compatible with this beta. If you already use an old version, please uninstall that version, and at uninstallation choose to restore the Windows Firewall default settings.

    Download link: http://binisoft.org/download/beta/wfc.exe

    Any feedback for the new beta version is welcomed. Thank you for your support.
     
  21. Broadway

    Broadway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Install went flawlessly!
    No problems so far.

    The handling has become even more comfortable.
    Great job! Congratulation and thank you :)

    (By the way: Uninstallation of 3.0.0.8 via control panel did not work. I had to delete wfc.exe manually again.)
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2011
  22. Broadway

    Broadway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2011
    Posts:
    211
    Alex, I've got a suggestion for another feature:
    In Windows Firewall you can assign the rules to "Private", "Domain" or "Public" networks.
    WFC combines these to "all" networks.
    Did you ever think about enabling the user to specify the networks as mentioned above?
     
  23. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,056
    Location:
    Romania
    Source: http://www.binisoft.org/faq.php
    In the next version, I will make the uninstallation process to delete also the file.
    From the start, I developed WFC to create the firewall rules for all profiles, not for just a specific profile. I always thought that even when a user uses his home laptop in a public place and uses the internet from there, he still wants his rules. I mean that he will use the same settings for the internet browser, he will use the same chat application like at home, and he will want to use the same rules that he already created.
     
  24. alexandrud

    alexandrud Developer

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Posts:
    2,056
    Location:
    Romania
    Please create a debug log file using the button from the about window. Also please export your current policy using the program menu, and then send these two files at support@binisoft.org to check them.
     
  25. pajenn

    pajenn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Posts:
    930
    Does export from WFC 3.0.1.0 beta work with rules imported from WFC 3.0.0.8?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.