Another TI 11 Restore problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by hobocraig, Mar 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hobocraig

hobocraig Registered Member

I am not an expert at these things just a lowly web programmer trying to restore to a new hard drive.

Here is the breakdown:

Two Identical PC's HP Pavilion 1023 c

Destination PC:
    New Seagate 250GB Serial ATA 7200/16mb SATA-3G in the destination computer installed recognized and apparently working fine as my first restore attempt can see the drive and restored all files but no boot.

Source Computer has a Maxtor 250 gb SATA 150 model

I am using a USB External as the Backup Drive to restore to the new drive.

The source computer has two partitions c:primary and d:logical XP restore partition. The way it came setup.

I do a full Backup (My Computer) I include the media options to make it bootable etc.

The backup goes fine but after a restore from the bootable CD the PC will not boot. I have been at this for 7 hours already today lol so so much for a quick and easy rebuild. I get some kind of MBR error.

I read through here quite a bit but can really makes sense of what I am doing wrong if anything.

I'd appreciate any help, I know it probably be covered - it's not an emergency just a disaster recovery test lol! I wanted to see if I could actually restore to a new drive in another computer to be familiar for when the day comes. I have TI 11 running on 4 very important PC's.

Thanks

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

The two computers may have the same model number but may be different enough inside to need the Universal Restore option together with Acronis Workstation to do the transfer correctly.

3. hobocraig

Thanks for the response: I am using the home version 11. So "Universal Restore option together with Acronis Workstation " - I need other software?

Thanks

4. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member