another reason to use AlphaShield over a router on a single comp.

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by bigc73542, Jan 15, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
  2. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
  3. ProSecurity

    ProSecurity Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Posts:
    123
    O ho.
    Thanks for the heads up, bigc.

    Although knowledge of this news maybe more of a motivation to disable UPnP on your router than to use AlphaShield...
     
  4. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    you are probably right about just disabling UPnP but I had to take the shot:thumb: Love my AlphaShield
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2008
  5. beethoven

    beethoven Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    1,043
    Had a look at the website apart from a lot of great sounding marketing, I am just as uninformed as before. :doubt:

    What exactly is this "wonderthing" doing and why do I need this in addition to my Router and software firewall? Aren't both routers and software firewall meant to close your ports and/or stealth your pc?
     
  6. webster

    webster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    285
    Location:
    Denmark
    One of the advantages with AlphaShield is, that it blocks connections to all other sites, than the one you visit. This will give you good protection against Cross Site Scripting, redirects, and bannerinjections. I love Alphashield too :thumb:
     
  7. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Oh really? Where is this feature documented?
     
  8. webster

    webster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2004
    Posts:
    285
    Location:
    Denmark
    http://www.alphashield.com/technology.htm

    Thats why it also blocks third party popups :cool:
     
  9. jrmhng

    jrmhng Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2007
    Posts:
    1,268
    Location:
    Australia
    Lol so thats what it means. I wish they would just explain it more concretely.

    But I have always disabled upnp.
     
  10. DaveD

    DaveD Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2007
    Posts:
    54
    It's good to see a Canadian company like AlphaShield make this kind of progress.
     
  11. Rainwalker

    Rainwalker Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Posts:
    2,106
    Location:
    USA
    Explain please
     
  12. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    I'm still not sold on AS and probably never will be. I'll take a nice router over that "blackbox" device anyday.
     
  13. ggf31416

    ggf31416 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2006
    Posts:
    314
    Location:
    Uruguay
    And how is going to know AS which site is requested by the user and which one is requested automatically by the browser?
     
  14. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma

    software firewalls and router firmware can be corrupted, an AlphaShield is a Hardware FW and it is not corruptable by attack There ia a $100.000 reward if you can hack an AlphaShield, it hasn't been done yet.
     
  15. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    5,121
    Location:
    USA
    Do you know for a fact that router firmware can be corrupted? If so please explain. The marketers of AlphaShield make all kinds of claims, but where is the corroboration by disinterested third party testers?
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2008
  16. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    Maybe the AlphaShield isn't so bad but no serious tests has been done yet with this product. An hardware SPI firewall like the wrt54g with upnp disabled will surely be as good if not better than the AS. Viruses, trojans or malwares don't care if you're behind a router or a router + an AS anyway.
     
  17. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    If I have this figured out right the connection sequence is:

    DSL Line -> Router -> AlphaShield -> Workstation Switch -> Multiple PCs

    Assuming something gets past the router with its SPI FW enabled, and
    one or more of the PCs does not have and inbound FW enabled, UPnP blocked
    or disabled, etc., then AlphaShield provides a secure SPI layer of
    inbound protection.

    Is the above example correct? (Linksys Workgroup switch used on my
    multiple PC home set-up)

    Can AlphaShield be connected in FRONT of the router to protect it also?
    Would it make sense to do that if it can be done?
     
  18. wat0114

    wat0114 Guest

    It's easy to boast a 100% guarantee if your Internet connection is severed.
     
  19. Alcyon

    Alcyon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Posts:
    438
    Location:
    Montr?al, Canada
    The "AlphaGAP Technology" sounds the same as the power on/off of my broadband modem and I really doubt that the logical disconnect or reconnect is something useful as once you're infected with virus, trojans or something else, it'll usually tend to establish an outbound connection even if you don't want. What will tell the AS if it's you or the malicious program? I guess Nothing.

    In my opinion, if you already have a good router/firewall with SPI, this AlphaShield is a useless additional layer of protection.
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2008
  20. bigc73542

    bigc73542 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2003
    Posts:
    23,873
    Location:
    SW. Oklahoma
    Router software is definatly corruptable and suseptable to attack
    http://news.zdnet.co.uk/security/0,1000000189,39211011,00.htm in other articles concerning this it is stated that this exploit is possible in personal home routers also.

    And here is a very interesting from Bnet which is cnet's business site. http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0EIN/is_2005_August_18/ai_n14926767
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2008
  21. Cloudcroft

    Cloudcroft Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2004
    Posts:
    433
    Location:
    The Hill Country of Texas
    There is a promotional video on the AlphaShield website that indicates you can put the AS in front of a router.

    http://www.alphashield.com/educate.htm
     
  22. FadeAway

    FadeAway Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    270
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, I looked at the video. I have a combined modem/router unit
    provided by the ISP, so I guess in that case it would go behind the
    router, not in front of it, using the set-up instructions shown.
     
  23. fax

    fax Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Posts:
    3,726
    Location:
    localhost
    Very Interesting....finally some good reasons to be careful with UPnP.

    But I thought UPnP in routers mainly gives 'remote' software the full control on ports (opening/closing) without the need of manually opening them on the router.

    Are there UpnP commands to completely reset the DNSs of the router? Or there is some other hacks combined with UpnP that changes the main configuration of the router?

    Thanks you in advance for any feedback...

    Cheers,
    Fax
     
  24. Stem

    Stem Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Posts:
    4,948
    Location:
    UK
    Hi Fax,

    http://www.gnucitizen.org/blog/hacking-the-interwebs

     
  25. Jomsviking

    Jomsviking Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2007
    Posts:
    55
    This topic is already being discussed here:

    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=197556

    At the link Stem gave there is a POC consisting of code that can be compiled with Adobe Flex and set up on a webpage with an embedded flash object.
    If someone has the flash skills to set up such a test or knows of some harmless test locations, it would be nice to see what can security software do against those specially crafted .swf files. Probably not much.

    Also, this exploit is not necessarily easy to perform, requiring the conjugation of several factors.
    For the time being, turning UPnP off on the router seems to be the only real solution (flash can be blocked, but other stuff such as java etc.. can be used - in principle - to perform the UPnP hack). The thing is, most people will have no clue how to set up manual port forward.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.