Another problem with installation.

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by Jam3s, Apr 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jam3s

    Jam3s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    During installation, the process reaches "Starting Services", hangs there for a few minutes then rolls backs and says there was an error.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    Please run the installation file as follows: "ess_nt32_enu.msi /lvx* something.log" and send the log file along with an issue description to betasupport@eset.sk.

    If /lvx* doesnt work, use just /l
     
  3. Jam3s

    Jam3s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks, sent the log away. /lvx* worked.
     
  4. AshG

    AshG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    East TN
    I had the same issue. When I right-clicked the installation file and clicked properties, I noticed that it said "This file is from another computer and has been blocked", along with a nice big Unblock button next to it. When I clicked Unblock, everything worked nicely.
     
  5. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    548


    Same here.Tried installing Ess today and got the same error.Tried /lvx* and /l. No joy.It just wont install.:eek:
     
  6. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Same here.
    In my case installation rolls back only when I was connected to internet during the process.;)
    If I disconnect my broadband connection when installing everything is all right !:blink:
    Second bug (?) :
    If I set "Display:Advanced mode" after PC restart turns back to "Standard mode".
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    This doesn't happen here . It stays in Advanced mode . May be you should send ESET more information so that they check it more deeply.
     
  8. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    548

    I tried it and it installs fine if I disconnect from the net !!!. No icon in the tray tho.I did not reboot yet so I dont know if it will revert to standard mode..

    This suite looks nice. :thumb:
     
  9. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Good to heare that !:D
    I think it has something to do with detecting networks.:ninja:
    I just restart and still "advanced" so the second bug(?) is gone ...:thumb: :blink:
     
  10. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Something else I really don't like about uninstalling ESS.
    This is what's let behind after uninstall - a 17 MB folder !:mad:

    eset.JPG
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2007
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,415
    Yes, that's because it's still beta and it would not have been good if we delayed it because of this by additional 1-2 weeks.
     
  12. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    This happen again with 3.0.135.0 .:thumbd: :'( o_O :mad: :blink:
     
  13. mmac

    mmac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Unfortunately I tried that and it doesn't work either. It just won't install!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.