Another problem with installation.

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security v3 Beta Forum' started by Jam3s, Apr 6, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jam3s

    Jam3s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    During installation, the process reaches "Starting Services", hangs there for a few minutes then rolls backs and says there was an error.
     
  2. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Please run the installation file as follows: "ess_nt32_enu.msi /lvx* something.log" and send the log file along with an issue description to betasupport@eset.sk.

    If /lvx* doesnt work, use just /l
     
  3. Jam3s

    Jam3s Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Posts:
    2
    Thanks, sent the log away. /lvx* worked.
     
  4. AshG

    AshG Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2005
    Posts:
    206
    Location:
    East TN
    I had the same issue. When I right-clicked the installation file and clicked properties, I noticed that it said "This file is from another computer and has been blocked", along with a nice big Unblock button next to it. When I clicked Unblock, everything worked nicely.
     
  5. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543


    Same here.Tried installing Ess today and got the same error.Tried /lvx* and /l. No joy.It just wont install.:eek:
     
  6. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Same here.
    In my case installation rolls back only when I was connected to internet during the process.;)
    If I disconnect my broadband connection when installing everything is all right !:blink:
    Second bug (?) :
    If I set "Display:Advanced mode" after PC restart turns back to "Standard mode".
     
  7. ASpace

    ASpace Guest

    This doesn't happen here . It stays in Advanced mode . May be you should send ESET more information so that they check it more deeply.
     
  8. Banshee

    Banshee Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2004
    Posts:
    543

    I tried it and it installs fine if I disconnect from the net !!!. No icon in the tray tho.I did not reboot yet so I dont know if it will revert to standard mode..

    This suite looks nice. :thumb:
     
  9. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Good to heare that !:D
    I think it has something to do with detecting networks.:ninja:
    I just restart and still "advanced" so the second bug(?) is gone ...:thumb: :blink:
     
  10. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    Something else I really don't like about uninstalling ESS.
    This is what's let behind after uninstall - a 17 MB folder !:mad:

    eset.JPG
     
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2007
  11. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    Yes, that's because it's still beta and it would not have been good if we delayed it because of this by additional 1-2 weeks.
     
  12. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    This happen again with 3.0.135.0 .:thumbd: :'( o_O :mad: :blink:
     
  13. mmac

    mmac Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Unfortunately I tried that and it doesn't work either. It just won't install!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.