Another HIPS to add to Comodo

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by blacknight, Jan 4, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    Please, don't tell me your " why ? " or your " opinion ", I'm simply looking for an HIPS to run together CIS on Vista SP1: on XP SSM and CIS run good, but not on Vista SP1. May you suggest to me something that you already tested ?
     
  2. Kees1958

    Kees1958 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Posts:
    5,857
    Runs perfectly with CIS = LUA + Norton's UAC project, every time an elevation in user rights is needed, UAC will ask you, Norton's tool is so nice to remember your decisions. So you will have a full blown policy HIPS with file and registry protection. I Guess this is an to easy answer for you :)
     
  3. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe

    Thanks for your answer ;) I didn't try Norton's UAC project, but it seems more something as an AES protection that an HIPS...But is a first possibility anyway.
    :)
     
  4. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    It' possible run ( install ) Online Armor only as HIPS and not as fw ?
     
  5. Murderlove

    Murderlove Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Posts:
    99
    Yes it is possible to use Online Armor as HIPS only. However when I tested this I had installed OA first, then turned off the firewall function, then installed another firewall. I do not know how OA will react when you already have a Firewall installed and if you are able to disable the firewall function of OA before rebooting. I suppose it is possible, but I am not sure.
     
  6. subset

    subset Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Posts:
    825
    Location:
    Austria
    Hi,

    at the end of Online Armor's Safety Check Wizard you have access to the Firewall settings.
    On the bottom you can hit "Uninstall Firewall", like shown at OA Webhelp.
    http://www.tallemu.com/webhelp3/Options.html#firewall

    But I have never tried this with an already installed 3rd party Firewall.

    Cheers
     
  7. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    Murderlove and subset, thanks ;) I'll try... :rolleyes:
     
  8. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    Well, I tried. On Vista SP1, CIS and Online - fw uninstalled - make conflict. I wait for something else suggestion. :)
     
  9. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    blacknight.

    a) (Highly Recommended) You may not like my opinion, But to be honest - If you set Defense+ to Proactive Security then full power of Defense+ is activated and will prevent 99% of malware... And that's all you need.

    b) (Optional) However, Keeping the configuration as "Internet Security" in CIS be default configuration where Keyboard, Disk, Computer Monitor are not monitored you might find you want to find a Prevention solution that also monitors those areas, But I don't know any that do monitor those specific areas. So some one else may suggest something else for this option.

    Those are my only 2 options without sacrificing security.

    Cheers,
    Josh
     
  10. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    when is the next comodo realease?for sure it will be Defensewall's
    room mate:thumb:
     
  11. blacknight

    blacknight Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,434
    Location:
    Europe
    Josh, ( 3xist )
    I have not doubt concerning CIS Defense+ security, be sure. ;) ( I'm the web associate of Erreale, if you hear ). Only, I'm a bit...paranoid :) :D :D , to understand please read my post, no. 3, here: https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?p=1377794#post1377794 . But I know that also with CIS I'm anyway sure.

    Best regards.
     
    Last edited: Jan 5, 2009
  12. andyman35

    andyman35 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    2,336
    The beta is very close to it's 'mods release',probably this week.It's ready now apart from they have to convert the signatures into the new format.If there are no major issues I'd imagine the full release would be later this month.
     
  13. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thanks alot:thumb:
     
  14. jmonge

    jmonge Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Posts:
    12,883
    Location:
    Canada
    thats cool to hear,thanks alot:thumb:
     
  15. 3xist

    3xist Guest

    I read your post. :)

    You will see Usability Advantage in next release. Another advantage not many people know about Comodo Internet Security is that, if the AV detects a malware, Defense+ won't bother alerting you. So malware vs malware usability is the same...

    Cheers,
    Josh
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.