Anonymous VPN Torrents

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by Cutting_Edgetech, Jun 7, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cutting_Edgetech

Cutting_Edgetech Registered Member

Does anyone know of any good anonymous VPN services that works well with torrents? I've been using Xerobank for 2 years now, but Xerobank does not work well with torrents.

2. bryanjoe

bryanjoe Registered Member

3. nightrace

nightrace Registered Member

4. Cutting_Edgetech

Thanks BryanJoe, and Nightrace! I will try them out, and see which works best for me.

5. elapsed

elapsed Registered Member

Post back with your findings :)

6. Cutting_Edgetech

Ok, i will post my findings.

7. hierophant

hierophant Registered Member

@Cutting_Edgetech

What do you mean by "Xerobank does not work well with torrents"? I used it with Vuze a year or two ago, and it seemed OK. xB doesn't forward ports, which causes problems for some clients. And it may prevent clients from increasing speeds by blowing your anonymity -- in ways that other VPNs don't. Running a test torrent might be wise.

8. Cutting_Edgetech

Hierophant, so you are saying my problem may be with the torrent client i'm using. I'm using Utorrent. I used Vuze before with the same results. I've been using Xerobank for a little over 2 years now with the same problem. I made a post about this a little over a week ago on Xerobank's forum, and i still haven't found a solution. I will continue to use Xerobank because i believe Xerobank provides superior anonymity in comparison to the competitors, but that doesn't solve my problem. I just saw your reply to my post on Xerobank's forum, but i don't quiet understand what you are saying. Do i need to edit the notepad file for the connection? https://xerobank.com/forum/index.php/topic,928.0.html

Last edited: Jun 8, 2010
  9. Cutting_Edgetech