Annoying Toolbar Button in Outlook Express

Discussion in 'ESET NOD32 Antivirus' started by numlock2, Nov 20, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. numlock2

    numlock2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Posts:
    1
    I just installed trial version of NOD32 program and it installed an annoying button in my Outlook Express that I can't get rid of. Is there a way to remove it ?

    I like this program but if I can't get rid of that button I will have to remove it
    and not buy it

    Thanks
     
  2. JimGoo

    JimGoo Guest

    Try this procedure:

    Goto Setup, Advanced Setup, Miscellaneous, Email client integration

    Uncheck the Integrate into Outlook Express/Windows Mail
     
  3. jdm124

    jdm124 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    Thank, I was wondering, too.

    What is the purpose of Email client integration?
     
  4. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    not sure but i liked the procedure in 2.7 where it was basically invisible apart from the incoming mail scan (which i liked) The new box which messes up the view in O.E i could well do without permanently but i'd also like to know im protected in there. Also theres so many bugs even if you can put up with the box in there like sent items account details removed, broken email receipts and juddery send/receive with it turned on.
    But Frankly the icons the least of my worries with it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2007
  5. Westland

    Westland Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    7
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    (see this thread)

    So the integration doesn't do anything for us EAV users yet. Probably not until SSL scanning is supported.

    I think if you drag the icon next to your existing O.E. toolbar buttons you hardly even notice it.

    But there's really no reason to have enabled at all.
     
  6. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    mines been off for days and Outlook Express is better for it. :)
    It would be so nice not to see NOD in O.E at all , like in version 2.7 and just let it do its job in the background silently. I dont want it in there and i can quite happily get to it through the NOD32 program pushing F5 if i need to, which i dont. .
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2007
  7. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    If you receive email via POP3 then you can disable integration with OE without any adverse effect on scanning. It's only important for those who use antispam in ESS, POP3 traffic will be scanned before it reaches OE. From the technical point of view it's impossible to hide the toolbar completely in OE. What we can do is to give the user an option to use small icons.
     
  8. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Why cant it do its job silently in the background without the toolbar ? o_O
     
  9. Sir George

    Sir George Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2007
    Posts:
    32
    Auto scanning incoming email is almost entirely unnecessary. Visit the following site for a more complete explanation;

    http://www.thundercloud.net/infoave/answers/2007/no-email-scan-with-av.htm

    Just wanted to let you know there is no real need to be concerned about virus protection with auto scanning email turned off/disabled.

    Just an FYI: So far version 3.0.563 is working without problems on my machine.
     
  10. Marcos

    Marcos Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    14,374
    I just had a call with our developers on this subject. In the future versions it will be possible to hide the toolbar completely and also choose the size of the icons. The plugin is necessary for those who wish to have secured POP3s traffic scanned, in future versions it will scan IMAP as well.
     
  11. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    Great News and Thank you. :)
     
  12. jdm124

    jdm124 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2007
    Posts:
    6
    On my two machines that 'feature' will slow the closing of OE by about 2~3 seconds, other than that it appears to do no harm beyond taking up space.

    Using Outlook, it has no noticeable effect beyond taking up space.
     
  13. poutine

    poutine Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2007
    Posts:
    371
    Location:
    England or Quebec
    good for you, it crashes on lots though. ;)
     
  14. MikeMcr

    MikeMcr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Posts:
    10
    Please can you also make the same change to Outlook? Currently, you can hide the toolbar yourself but it always comes back after a restart.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.