Annoying Ads

Discussion in 'other security issues & news' started by TomFace, Feb 4, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TomFace

    TomFace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    USA
    I use AT&T/Yahoo for my e-mail (I am an AT&T retiree) and am very fed up with the annoying ads (Ad Choices I believe) when I log in to that e-mail. I was using Emsisoft 7 in addition to Smart Security 6 and the Emsisoft blocked those ads. Today I uninstalled Emsisoft to avoid any possible conflict. Is there another way to block those adso_O? I suppose I could re-install Emsisoft and just run it with the surf protection enabled-I really had no issues with conflicts as I had exceptions built in to both programs. Any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2013
  2. southcat

    southcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2004
    Posts:
    212
    Perhaps you can try adblock plus or admuncher or k9 web protection ?
     
  3. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    I see that you're using IE9. You could see if using the known Tracking Protection Lists would solve it. Otherwise if it doesn't solve, you could either check the webmail page source code and see where the ads are coming from, and hopefully if they're coming from a third-party, then you could create your own TPL and block connection to those third-party ad domains, or you could try some other ad-blocker, but I'm not familiar with free ones for IE other than Ghostery and DoNotTrackMe (by Abine).

    -edit-

    Another option could be the use of a dedicated ads hosts file. Add the ads domain names there (once you check the webmail page source code) and point them either to 127.0.0.1 or 0.0.0.0
     
  4. TomFace

    TomFace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    USA
    m00nbl00d-thanks for the info, I looked up the ones IE9 lists-I don't know anything about TPLs, is Abine a decent one (I see them listed)?
     
  5. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
  6. TomFace

    TomFace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    USA
    I get leary of adding new software-is Adfender safe?
     
  7. wtsinnc

    wtsinnc Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Posts:
    943
    It was for me.
    I used it with IE8/XP and never had a problem with spyware or being spammed because of it.

    I just recently switched to Firefox 18/19 Beta and although AdFender is compatible with FF I no longer use it, opting for AdBlock Plus, Plus Edge, ABP pop-up addon, and Flashblock, but while running IE8 I was very happy with it.
     
  8. TomFace

    TomFace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks wtsinnc, between the TPLs (new to me) and your suggestion, I think I have a better handle on this.:thumb:

    Learn something new every day...I guess:p (but I feel kind of stupid...:doubt: )
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2013
  9. hogndog

    hogndog Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2007
    Posts:
    628
    Location:
    In His Service
    Keeping up with your host files, this information should be able to give you a leg up.. its free its helpful and it works..

    http://winhelp2002.mvps.org/hosts.htm

    With Hostsman.. You can edit your host files add and or delete check for duplicates and etc.. In your options set it to overwrite rather than merge the hosts.. You can update the MVP Host file once a month, with the Hp Hosts (ad and tracking) you can update more often, that is if you decide to use Hostsman..:)

    http://www.majorgeeks.com/HostsMan_d4592.html
     
  10. LockBox

    LockBox Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Posts:
    2,275
    Location:
    Here, There and Everywhere
    These third-party brandings with Yahoo are not being renewed as contracts end. It's one of the changes made by Marissa Mayer, the (beautiful) new CEO of Yahoo. Have you seen the regular Yahoo Mail lately? I mean within the last 90 days. A totally new look (as long as you select to see the 'new' Yahoo Mail). It's much cleaner, the spam defense has been ramped up tenfold and it's just one of many, many changes on the way for Yahoo! I knew the minute I heard they actually took her away from Google that the Yahoo board was serious about getting back in the game on so many fronts. By the way, inside Silicon Valley she's getting rave reviews for her creative ideas to bring Yahoo back like a phoenix.
     
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2013
  11. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    You may want to try Fanboy Ultimate TPL, instead. There's no official link at Fanboy's website (there used to be no link, I haven't checked now), but this should allow you to add that list to IE9.

    1. Open Notepad and copy and paste the following code to it:

    Code:
    <a href="javascript:window.external.msAddTrackingProtectionList('https://secure.fanboy.co.nz/adblock/ie/fanboy-ultimate-ie.tpl', 'Fanboy Ultimate TPL')">Add Fanboy Ultimate TPL</a>
    
    2. Save the file with the extension html, and give it a name that will let you know what the file is all about (for future reference), such as Fanboy-Ultimate-TPL.html

    3. Select the previously created file and hit SHIFT + RIGHT CLICK and select Copy as path.

    4. Open Internet Explorer (if not already opened) and paste it into the address bar. Remove any quotation marks. Press ENTER.

    5. Click Add Fanboy Ultimate TPL. Then you may see an alert from IE9 saying it blocked scripts from executing. Allow and click Add Fanboy Ultimate TPL again.

    6. The TPL should be added now. (Make sure your Internet connection is on.)

    This TPL includes the main ablock list, tracking list and social buttons list from Fanboy. As you can see, the list itself is provided by Fanboy, but there's simply no official link available yet. That's all. :)

    Regarding Abine, I suppose you could use it (they don't whitelist stuff like many others), but I'm not sure if there's anything they block that the Fanboy's one doesn't block already (I haven't checked).
     
  12. TomFace

    TomFace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    USA
    m00nbl00d, LockBox, hogndog, wtsinnc & southcat, THANKS to all of you! I feel that I have a better handle on the situation due to all of your help.

    It is much appreciated!:thumb:

    :D :D :D
     
  13. TomFace

    TomFace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    USA
    One more question if I may, I run IE in Sandboxie 3.76, is that an issue?
     
  14. m00nbl00d

    m00nbl00d Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2009
    Posts:
    6,623
    That depends on whether or not you don't mind with the ads/trackers inside the sandbox. Sandboxie allows you to delete the sandbox contents, but as long as your sandbox session is active, ads will still be displayed and trackers will track you.

    So, the best answer I can offer is: What do you want to achieve? :)

    You could use Sandboxie + IE9, but I must warn you that you lose Internet Explorer Protected Mode (IE's own sandbox). I don't think anything has changed regarding IE's Protected Mode compatibility. I'm not saying you'll be in any more danger, because you're still sandboxed, but I simply don't know how far Sandboxie breaks IE's own sandbox.
     
  15. TomFace

    TomFace Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2011
    Posts:
    77
    Location:
    USA
    Lots to consider:blink: . Thanks so much again-it is appreciated:thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.