Android OS: Do you use a Firewall?

Discussion in 'polls' started by Sampei Nihira, Oct 6, 2014.

?

Android OS: Do you use a Firewall?

  1. No

    32 vote(s)
    56.1%
  2. Yes

    16 vote(s)
    28.1%
  3. I'm not interested

    9 vote(s)
    15.8%
  1. RockLobster

    RockLobster Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2007
    Posts:
    1,812
    It only blocks some of it. If you use no root firewall you'll see even the ones you set not to use background data STILL try do it regardless because noroot firewall logs the attempts to connect to the internet and show it happens during periods when the phone was not even being used and was on the lock screen.
     
  2. Trooper

    Trooper Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Posts:
    4,848
  3. guest

    guest Guest

    The one in Adguard Mobile
     
  4. act8192

    act8192 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    1,759
    Yes, No root FW, and I agree with post#26, I see the same stuff.
     
  5. mercurie

    mercurie A Friendly Creature

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2003
    Posts:
    2,448
    Location:
    Sky over the Wilders Forest
    I do not believe any of my Android based (pay for) VPNs have firewalls. There is a kill switch feature but I do not have it activated.
     
  6. summerheat

    summerheat Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2015
    Posts:
    1,901
    AfWall+. Requires root.
     
  7. EASTER

    EASTER Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Posts:
    9,709
    Location:
    U.S.A. (South)
    :thumb: It's one I also run.
     
  8. Stefan Froberg

    Stefan Froberg Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2014
    Posts:
    747
    No.

    Not using yet because that's something that Android should provide by default, without needing
    any 3rd party stuff.
    Because Android is Linux and Linux has firewall built right into it's kernel (it's netfilter component and corresponding userspace tool iptables) this is something that Google should expose as native setting for users.

    Hopefully in the next coming Android 9 aka "P" version where (finally) users can
    also change global DNS settings too and not just for Wifi which is stupid.
    Something, that Google should have done also long time ago. There really should not be marketplace for 3rd party apps for simple thing like that like there is now ... :thumbd:

    EDIT: And if there is any Google engineer readings this:
    Make it like this:

    Settings -> Firewall -> "Inbound default policy" and from there either "Allow" or "Drop"
    Settings -> Firewall -> "Outbound default policy" and from there either "Allow" or "Drop"
    Settings -> Firewall -> Applications which show list of all apps and for each app choice either "Allow" or "Drop" for inbound/outbound so that individual apps can override default policies.

    Thats it
     
    Last edited: Jul 22, 2018
  9. __Nikopol

    __Nikopol Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Posts:
    630
    Location:
    Germany
    Unfortunately using any non-root firewall blocks you from using a VPN. And a VPN makes more sense for a thing that is constantly connected to insecure network. (Mobile, not WiFi)
     
  10. LoneWolf

    LoneWolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2006
    Posts:
    3,685
    For those interested GlassWire for Android now contains a Firewall.
    30 day trial, 5 bucks US per year.
    Available on the Google Play store.
     
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.