An OS image install ?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by ThunderZ, Dec 12, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Will be upgrading to a new primary hdd soon. Moving from an older (5+ years old) Seagate 40 gig IDE to a 74 gig WD Raptor (= SATA). Here is my question. Using BING is it possible to image my current primary hdd then restore it to the new drive. The mobo is of course SATA ready and the drivers are already installed but have the SATA channels currently disabled in the BIOS.

    Have had great success with BING in creating partitions on all ready installed\active primary hdds. Have not yet tried out its` imaging abilities.
     
  2. Brian K

    Brian K Imaging Specialist

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Posts:
    8,650
    Location:
    NSW, Australia
    ThunderZ,

    Sure can with BING.

    You have obviously read...

    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb/article.php?id=294

    Did you know that TeraByte is just about to release ver 2 of IFD and IFW? Here are trial versions. Functional. They are even easier than BING for image/restore.

    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/downloads/ifd_en_trial.zip

    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/downloads/ifw_en.zip
     
  3. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Thunder:
    http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/kb...00XP2003-Image-Across-Different-Hardware.html
    And
    http://www.vernalex.com/guides/sysprep/

    Hmm...
    Why not a fresh install with the new HW. ??

    Bing images have saved my hide on several occasions :D
    No probs whatsoever with image restore with BING as main tool to same HW.
    Boot: Partition: restore, mbr etc etc etc remarkable.

    I suspect if you can follow the terabyte workthroughs there will be success.

    Ask and search @ Terabyte news group: you'll get help: http://www.terabyteunlimited.com/webnews.html

    I would carefully look at any issues with "universal restore" tools from Acronis
    http://www.acronis.com/enterprise/products/ATISWin/faq/windows-system-recovery/

    and Symantec ( via Veritas ) or ShadowProtect and such
    Peter2150 has trialled ShadowProtect HIR with success.

    I suspect it's not quite as easy as it looks :cautious:
    Regards.

    PS BrianK has extensive insight into and expertise with Terabyte and imaging and restore.
    If I read correctly he has actually found a bug in Terabyte's trial products ?

    *** Add: the BING versions currently in circulation will not work with the image files created by the latest releases ( 'version 2') of IFW/IFD

    Lbd.
     
  4. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Thank You both. Had done a bit of reading on BING and was confident it could be done but is reassuring to hear from others. The links are appreciated as well.

    A fresh install is the best way to go without a doubt. How ever being a bit of a tweaker o_O it usually turns into an all day project. That is the kind of time I just do not have to spare right now. :(
     
  5. Longboard

    Longboard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Posts:
    3,187
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Heh: I'm with ya there: realistically need at least ALL DAY for new install ...and fiddling... and updates...etc etc etc
    It's a bit of a pain to do.
    It is really nice to do image restore no doubt.

    But; Even with your experience as a user there's bound to be some crud some where on the disc.

    When it ( restore) works and up and running and have time, can always go back: new partition with BING and do 'clean' install. Can then image as you go layer by layer, install by install if you want.
    I'm trying to put lots of 'stuff' on external drives and even some of my 'tools' on USBs to keep primary image small.
    Not sure there's much point to it :doubt: just tweaking.
    I think my computer innards which I want to look and go like this
    http://www.motortrend.com/photo_gallery/112_0712_2008_ferrari_430_scuderia_gallery/photo_01.html
    Looks and acts more like this
    http://jeepney.man.freeservers.com/cgi-bin/i/x107.jpg

    :eek:

    regards
     
  6. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.
    Very true....unfortunately. Although not as bad as it used to be. There was a time I would try out just about any kind of freeware\shareware (and other) software out there. Then I switched to 64 bit and that curtailed my "playing" drastically. Also greatly decreased the instances of suspected trojans :ninja: trying to execute :eek: or found lying dormant :cautious: ;)

    Your idea of an image then a fresh install is excellent. Had planned on at least 2 if not 3 partitions along with my Seagate 500 gig storage drive. So room is not a problem. Will probably even finally do what I have planned for a long time. Create an ISO of it and commit it to a DVD for posterity. :D
     
  7. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
    Please let us know if it works. (I also use BING and like it very much)
     
  8. ThunderZ

    ThunderZ Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2006
    Posts:
    2,459
    Location:
    North central Ohio, U.S.A.

    The Raptor hdd purchase got delayed a bit :rolleyes: ....over did the Christmas spending. ;) Will let you know as soon as I can. :thumb:
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.