an antivirus that doesn't kill my pc ?!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by hot4mix, Feb 4, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hot4mix

    hot4mix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    hello guys !
    i was using nod32 cause it efficient and lite
    i mean my pc is not that good
    so nod32 didn't use much cpu
    the problem is i don't have a connection anymore
    so upgrading is impossible

    so i was wondering if there is any other anti virus software that both works and lite ?!

    any recommendation !

    ah ! forgot to say that my pc is 933Mhz (pre historic i know)
    256 Mb of rams !

    Thanks !
     
  2. The_1337

    The_1337 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Posts:
    112
    i would recommend avira premium(only a few $). imo, it uses less cpu and ram than nod32 3.0 and has better detection rates.
     
  3. bellgamin

    bellgamin Very Frequent Poster

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2002
    Posts:
    5,648
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I agree as to the detection rate of Avira. It is superb!

    HOWEVER, its daily updates often run to 1.2 MB, and sometimes as high as 2 MB or more. Unless you have a broadband connection, you WILL have problems with Avira's updates.
     
  4. cheater87

    cheater87 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2005
    Posts:
    3,124
    Location:
    Pennsylvania.
    AVG anti virus free edition is pretty light.
     
  5. Carver

    Carver Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,827
    Location:
    USA
    I recommend avira premium. It lighter than nod32 3.0 (on my system anyway) and has better detection rates.
     
  6. AaLF

    AaLF Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2005
    Posts:
    986
    Location:
    Sydney
    Avira's liability is its boring logo & spiderweb art design. Some don't care about these qualities and instead choose Avira because its up with the top AVs' around today.

    To each his own.
     
  7. Tarq57

    Tarq57 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Posts:
    966
    Location:
    Wellington NZ
    Am I missing something here?
    If there is no connection, doesn't that make an AV rather unnecessary (except maybe for flashdrives/cd's etc)?
     
  8. kinwolf

    kinwolf Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Posts:
    271
    My thought exactly. And if you can't update NOd32 because you don't have any connection, then you won't be able to update any of the current AV.
     
  9. Dark Shadow

    Dark Shadow Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2007
    Posts:
    4,553
    Location:
    USA
    @Hot4mix If you have no internet conncetion there Is no point of any AV programs.For one You would not be able to update virus database, so why even switch from Nod to any other vendor?
     
  10. computer geek

    computer geek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Posts:
    776
    since i'm not allowed to say m... anymore, i reccomend what you see in my avatar. :D :D :D
     
  11. L815

    L815 Guest

    I recommend Avira Personal Classic or Premium
     
  12. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    drweb would probaly serve you best.
    you can download all the lastest bases and engine upgrades from their website and its light on resourses. use migration deal to get 50 percent off.
    most antivirus need a connection to update there engines.
    i know other antivirus companies supply the bases on their website but dont always allow offline updating of engine updates etc where as drweb does.
    lodore
     
  13. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    this may be true... but doesnt he still need a connection to DOWNLOAD the latest bases and engine upgrades?

    o_O
     
  14. lodore

    lodore Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Posts:
    9,006
    yes he needs a connection somewhere.....
    but cant he download them on another computer and stick the stuff on a usb pen?
    he must have a connection somewhere?
     
  15. Kosak

    Kosak Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2007
    Posts:
    711
    Location:
    Slovakia
    Hi!

    ESET Smart Security system requirements:

    Windows 2000, XP, 2003

    400 MHz 32-bit (x86) / 64-bit (x64)
    128MB RAM of system memory
    35MB available space
    Super VGA (800 x 600)

    Windows Vista

    1 GHz 32-bit (x86) / 64-bit (x64)
    512MB RAM of system memory
    35MB available space
    Super VGA (800 x 600)

    :thumb:
     
  16. ugly

    ugly Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2005
    Posts:
    276
    Location:
    Romania
    For me only - very interesting to see a system with XP,400 MHz,128MB RAM and ESS running ! :D o_O
     
  17. Blackcat

    Blackcat Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2002
    Posts:
    4,010
    Location:
    Christchurch, UK
    Never had problems here on dial-up with normal updates of the Premium version. But upgrades do take a long time!
     
  18. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    9,057
    Location:
    North Carolina
    to simply answer your question, Avira. Let your computer decide.
     
  19. C.S.J

    C.S.J Massive Poster

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Posts:
    5,029
    Location:
    this forum is biased!
    i believe ive already answered this question before in a similar thread in quite some detail.

    take a guess :)

    im not understanding really the need for one without a connection, i suggest he buy something like safensec, something that doesnt require updates or a connection to function properly.

    http://www.safensoft.com/security.phtml?c=605
     
  20. NAMOR

    NAMOR Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,526
    Location:
    Arkham Asylum
    What OS are you running?
     
  21. hot4mix

    hot4mix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    WoW !
    thank god for u're forum !

    i cant believe how much replies !
    first of all thank u everybody

    now lets c !

    i need an antivirus , cause am a web designer so am always doin' something with my flash drive !

    if the software offers manual update i can download it on my usb flash !
    something like bit defender

    i will look into this avira software
    i'll download a demo to c how its holding up

    really thank u so much for u're replies !
     
  22. hot4mix

    hot4mix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    ah , and am using xpsp2
     
  23. Brian N

    Brian N Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Posts:
    2,148
    Location:
    Denmark
    But no blurry text thank god.
     
  24. bktII

    bktII Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Posts:
    224
    @hot4mix

    Perhaps another approach to consider?

    Dr. Web CureIt!
    http://www.freedrweb.com/

    MicroWorld Free AntiVirus Toolkit Utility (MWAV)
    http://www.mwti.net/products/mwav/mwav.asp

    Both will download to your flash drive with signatures included.

    Although not strictly an antivirus (it is an anti-malware scanner), this may also be of interest if you do not mind the command-line:

    a-squared Command Line Scanner 3.0
    http://www.emsisoft.com/en/software/download/

    This will download to your flash drive as well.

    If you happen to have a U3 smart-capable flash drive, you might find avast! U3 Edition of interest:
    http://www.avast.com/eng/avast-u3.html
     
    Last edited: Feb 5, 2008
  25. hot4mix

    hot4mix Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    Posts:
    4
    bktII <<< Thanks man
    am checkin avira right now , but i like the features written on Dr. Web site
    i guess i'll be checkin that out !

    thanks again man !
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.