AMD Radeon update

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by Osaban, Jul 24, 2016.

  1. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,214
    AMD Radeon on my computer notified that an update is available (Win 10) see screenshot, when I click update the installation proceeds normally without any problems.

    I thought fine that's that, but when I reboot the machine (not prompted by the update) the update notification asks me again whether I want to proceed with the installation, which means that the first update didn't take place although the installer claimed it was successful.

    I've tried several times always with the same results... Any advice as to what might be the reason for the botched installation? TIA AMD Radeon update.JPG
     
  2. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
    Let it proceed after rebooting.
     
  3. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,214
    Actually Ron I didn't word it properly, what I meant was that once I reboot the machine there would be the same notification that an update is available as if they were notifying me for the first time... I even disabled my AV just in case it would silently interfere in the background but to no avail.
     
  4. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    FWIW, I noticed when I manually installed the latest AMD Radeon software and driver that I kept getting prompted like you. I think it was prompting for a newer driver or software that wasn't compatible with my GPU, but I could be wrong.

    I found stopping the software from starting with Windows stopped the prompts, but as soon as I started the software I was prompted again.
     
  5. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
    Look in device manager for your display adapter, right click for properties, and see what the event log lists.
     
  6. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    Ron, if that's for me I've reinstalled Windows since then and didn't bother to manually install the AMD Radeon software. I'm just using the driver supplied by Windows 10 Update this time around.

    Thanks.
     
  7. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,722
    Location:
    Texas
    Device manager should tell you exactly what driver is installed.
     
  8. pegas

    pegas Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Posts:
    2,016
    I have the same issue. It looks like it was installed but it didn't actually. I tried it 3 times but to no avail. I gave up and ignore the update. As AMD updates are brought by MS patches on my Win 10 machine I will wait for a fix from MS respectively AMD.
     
  9. Krusty

    Krusty Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Posts:
    2,865
    Location:
    Australia
    Yes, this is the driver installed - 15.201.1151.1008.

    Thanks.
     
  10. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,214
    Well I can see that this isn't happening only to me. Device manager shows the same 'currently installed' version as in my screen shot (first post) and the event log shows all entries as of July 7, namely that was the date I upgraded from Win 8.1 to Win 10. So maybe as pegas suggests some kind of fix will eventually come from MS updates. But then why would AMD try to update directly if it is done through MS updates?
    I think you might be right as I had problems upgrading from Win 8 to 8.1 with AMD Radeon, I wouldn't be surprised if the same thing is happening with the Win 10 upgrade.
     
  11. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,963
    Location:
    Brasil
    I never allow such installs. Whenever there's a driver update (I also use AMD), I download the driver from their site and install that.
     
  12. Osaban

    Osaban Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Posts:
    4,214
    The installs we are talking about are from AMD, and they don't seem to work. Besides on Win 10, MS updates will prevail as they can't be stopped...
     
  13. amarildojr

    amarildojr Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2013
    Posts:
    1,963
    Location:
    Brasil
    I know :D I also have an AMD card.

    But the Windows 10 driver is outdated, something like 15.11? You can install a newer driver from their website and override the Windows 10 one, at least this worked for me. Then, later, you can download a newer driver again and install it.

    But I never installed from AMD's updates, TBH. I like to be in control of when I install things.
     
Loading...