Alternatives to SP3(Shadow Protect 3)

Discussion in 'sandboxing & virtualization' started by Rico, Feb 10, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,694
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Guys,

    I've been using 'Shadow Protect 3' since launch, IMO this product just does not work, for me. I'm not looking to try & fix SP3, as there support & forum can't make it work. I changed from Acronis to SP3, when Acronis restore caused, many problems. So alternative image backups, which would reside on my ext HDD. HELP!

    Thanks & Take Care
    Rico
     
  2. sukarof

    sukarof Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2004
    Posts:
    1,714
    Location:
    Stockholm Sweden
    Re: Alternatives to SP3

    I cant say I have tried them all but if SP3 wouldnt work for me, I´d go back to Terabyte Image for windows/Image for Dos. It is another rock solid image software. Take the image and dont worry about it. The restore just works, no fuss. I have done atleast 10-15 restores with it so thats my experience. The Gui in windows are clean with no bloat. Since version 2 it has diferential backups too if you´re into that.
    The Dos recovery environment might be confusing the first time but you soon get a hang of it.
     
  3. MikeNAS

    MikeNAS Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2006
    Posts:
    697
    Location:
    FiNLAND
    Re: Alternatives to SP3

    I'm testing now Drive Image which is part of EAZ-FIX. I makes images which is enough to me. 49$ isn't bad price for snapshots and images :D
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2008
  4. WSFuser

    WSFuser Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Posts:
    10,632
    Re: Alternatives to SP3

    Paragon Drive BackUp.
     
  5. tepe2

    tepe2 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Posts:
    539
  6. MaB69

    MaB69 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Posts:
    540
    Location:
    Paris
    Hi,

    Acronis True Image Workstation is many more reliable than home edition
    I agree with WSFUser, Paragon is another very good alternative

    Regards,

    MaB
     
  7. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    can you give details on what's wrong with SP on your rig e.g. problem with install or recovery CD. Over at storagecraft forums most problems seems confined to server and corporate environments,and their discussions there went way over my head.But otherwise almost no threads concerning endusers desktop use of SP. Seems reliable stuff at least for me and other users here at Wilders.
     
  8. dja2k

    dja2k Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2005
    Posts:
    2,040
    Location:
    South Texas, USA
    Re: Alternatives to SP3

    I wonder if you can really rely on these images for when you want to restore?

    dja2k
     
  9. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Re: Alternatives to SP3

    True,plus far too slow,too cumbersome,clumsy and too large plus doubtful reliability-not an alternative at all to a proper imager.
     
  10. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Rico,

    I realise you say that SP cannot be used,but I had the same problem when switching from ATI and the recommended cure of just removing snapdll. just wasnt sufficient--SP didnt work!

    I had to manually sift through the registry and the system,to remove every last trace of ATI before I achieved complete success.
     
  11. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,694
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Guys,

    Huupi - Many times I've had to re-install SP3 as it would become 'dis-connected' instead of active. I do monthly + increments, the schedule is always screwing up. Today's increment showed, upon opening the program, March increment had failed. Often times it will work 2 - 3 (3 weeks in a row record) in a row, then the next will have a problem, failed backup, schedule wrong, lost empty log, dis-connected. I believe the transition from increment to full backup is one problem.

    Hairy Coo - I remember printing the manual uninstall for Acronis, & going through the registry. Does snap.dll belong to Acronis?

    Take Care
    Rico
     
  12. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Rico

    The critical Dll is in fact called Snapman and here is a bit of reading to act as a checkpoint as to whether TI was properly uninstalled ,which may otherwise account for your problems;

    Wilders 1
    Wilders 2
    Wilders 3
    Wilders 4
    Wilders 5
    Wilders 6

    There is some duplication but some new tips in most re proper uninstall.

    From memory I manually deleted the snapman driver from Windows System32/Drivers also,apart from all the other suggestions.

    Regarding the Schedule issue,maybe its linked to this;

    In order for fast incremental tracking to continue, the computer must have a normal shutdown and bootup sequence. If it was powered off abnormally, rebooted with the reset button or blue-screened, then ShadowProtect loses its ability to track the incremental and it must do an incremental repair. etc (SP Forum)

    Would be a pity to have to go to another app!
     
  13. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Nate somewhere showed the correct procedure to unregister the atidriver on his side,something todo with upper/lower filters,renaming,safemode and stuff,i looked for it but can't find the post,but it should be there.
     
  14. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Must admit that SP didn't work on my main system,mainly failed to backup the system part.But that was with earlier version[SP2].Reason for me to use only the recovery CD for backup/restore and it is flawless until now.One way to get around for me is use of FDISR[uncrippled version] in combo with SP to stay as much as current.If for any reason i have to restore an image,perhaps a one month old one,its no problem cause i bring my restored worksnapshot current with an freshly updated FDISR archive on an external drive,takes only 4 minutes.In this way i lose nothing and am a happy camper with this combo for quite some time.Some people like Erik use to say "i am invincible " !! with this setup.
     
  15. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,694
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Guys,

    I did find snapman.sys & was able to delete, no problem. The references to it in the registry were gone. Re-check Acronis using there removal instructions. Not sure how much this .sys file has to do with SP3's problems, as snappy's lost it reg values.

    Thanks & Take Care
    Rico
     
  16. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Also dont forget to disable the service!
    Usually SP wont work at all if snapman is present.
     
  17. Rico

    Rico Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2004
    Posts:
    1,694
    Location:
    Texas
    Hi Hairy Coo

    At the time of full uninstall I used the 'SnapAPI Installer' & chose uninstall Acronis. I believe this is why I was able to easily delete 'Snapman.sys' & the snapman was removed from the upper filters, in the reg.

    Just looked snappy is not a service.

    Take Care
    Rico
     
  18. lucas1985

    lucas1985 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2006
    Posts:
    4,047
    Location:
    France, May 1968
    SP imaging engine is flawless and the fastest one. SP has problems when it's installed on a system which previously had Acronis installed and there're some minor issues with the incremental backups.
     
  19. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    to be honest for me it was not the ATI stuff that crashed my system beyond recovery. I uninstalled PD8 in favor for UD but uninstall left driver Rss.sys the Raxco snapshot driver behind.I deleted it straight away and was at reboot presented with a very real BSOD !
     
  20. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2003
    Posts:
    57,727
    Location:
    Texas
    Several off topic posts removed.

    Discuss the software and not the posters.

    In the event there is a problem within a thread, use the report bad post feature of the forums.

    Your help will be appreciated.
     
  21. Huupi

    Huupi Registered Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Posts:
    2,024
    Don't get into the hassle off install and config,just do it from the recovery CD and your pretty safe that everything will work,if it does'nt work almost only cause is bad media,occasional coaster can happen,just burn a new one from isofile or switch brand and your done.

    to be honest i think that there is no real alternative to ShadowProtect,everyhing else for me is second choice. Note that its all about the recovery environment and this package is flawless.
     
  22. HAN

    HAN Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2005
    Posts:
    2,080
    Location:
    USA
    This has also been my approach. It does take a bit more time to create an image each time (because of the boot up time for the recovery CD) but as Huupi notes, SP 3 works great when used in this manner. Once 3.1 was released, I have had no issues at all...
     
  23. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Never had the slightest problem with imaging either way.
    Faster with the recovery CD,but the CD boot up time is a factor.
     
  24. DasFox

    DasFox Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1,825
    Re: Alternatives to SP3

    What then is a proper imager, SP3 isn't?
     
  25. Hairy Coo

    Hairy Coo Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Posts:
    1,486
    Location:
    Northern Beaches
    Re: Alternatives to SP3

    Dont understand the question-SP is the best-I've always maintained that.

    Double check the quote and where it came from,perhaps.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.