Allow or Block LSA Shell??

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by ruby, Feb 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ruby

    ruby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Struggling to get to grips with configuring a firewall, was asked to allow or block LSA Shell (Export version) System32/LSASS.EXE.
    As I wasn't sure what to do, I blocked it. Was that right please?
    Thanks,
    ruby
     
  2. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Good call... ;)
     
  3. ruby

    ruby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Ok thanks, but I've got to ask why......
     
  4. Phant0m

    Phant0m Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2003
    Posts:
    3,684
    Location:
    Canada
    Didn’t u block it? And it is unnecessary to have Internet access, unless you know why not to block it? :p
     
  5. ruby

    ruby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Didn’t u block it? Yes I did And it is unnecessary to have Internet access, unless you know why not to block it? No, I don't know why not block it. I was wondering why I had made a good call, seems odd if it's not required yet tried to access.
     
  6. CrazyM

    CrazyM Firewall Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    2,428
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    If you are seeing lsass.exe making a network connection it is likely a result of having the IPSec Service enabled. If you are not using this service you can block it or disable the service and you should not see the network connection/prompts.

    Regards,

    CrazyM
     
  7. ruby

    ruby Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2005
    Posts:
    8
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks CrazyM, spot on,
    ruby
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.