All traffic from a certain mac address?

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by JoshuaJarman, Mar 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JoshuaJarman

    JoshuaJarman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    How do I enable all traffic from a certain mac address?
    The following is not working, am I missing something?

    Thanks!
     

    Attached Files:

  2. slreno

    slreno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    ummm put a destination.. to alow it
     
  3. JoshuaJarman

    JoshuaJarman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Doesn't selecting ALL destination addresses cover that?

    Do I have to explicitly specify my mac address in each rule that allows access from another mac address?

    Thanks!
     
  4. JoshuaJarman

    JoshuaJarman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    I put the remote mac in source and my mac in dest, but still no luck.
    The log shows all packets from that address still being blocked.

    Anyone have any ideas?
    Am I trying to do this correctly?

    Thanks!
     
  5. slreno

    slreno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    no, didnt for me i had to put in a dest mac.
     
  6. slreno

    slreno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    put them both as equal and not all
     
  7. slreno

    slreno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    just looked at mine and mine has the source and dest set as equal and also has the ip's in .. maybe the ip's are stopping it..
     
  8. JoshuaJarman

    JoshuaJarman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Here is the new rule, still not working.
    Thank you so much for the help.

    I would have thought adding a rule to allow all traffic from a certain computer would have been easier. :doubt:
     
  9. JoshuaJarman

    JoshuaJarman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Finally got it, thanks for all the help!
    Now I can jut copy that rule and edit for the other addresses.

    I appreciate it!
     
  10. slreno

    slreno Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Posts:
    22
    what was it? the ip's?
     
  11. JoshuaJarman

    JoshuaJarman Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Posts:
    11
    Yes, I added the IPs and it worked. :)

    Strangly enough, if I remove the IPs now it still works, and I set the field with my mac address back to all and it still works. o_O

    Don't know what to say other then, glad it is working and thanks for the help.
    :)
    Thanks again!

    (I'm sure most of this is me being new to the software, as it does seem quite high quality.)
     
  12. Frederic

    Frederic LnS Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Posts:
    4,354
    Location:
    France
    Hi,

    I suppose you wanted your PC to communicate with another machine having a specific MAC address.

    So this MAC address is destination for "PC>>Net" packet direction and is source for "Net>>PC" packet Direction. So the MAC address has to be set on the right side of the dialog box (in your initial post you put it on the left side which is wrong).
    For sure, it is possible to specify just the MAC address (and not the IP) to do what you want.

    Regards,

    Frederic
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.